Ochs, Larry/Sax And Drumming Core / Neon Truth, the
Album: Neon Truth, the   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Ochs, Larry/Sax And Drumming Core   Added:Oct 2003
Label:Black Saint  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-11-03 Pull Date: 2004-01-05 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 29, 2009: Memory Select [new Tuesday time!]
The Neon Truth
4. Feb 17, 2006: Memory Select
Finn Crosses Mars
2. Oct 24, 2008: Memory Select
Finn Crosses Mars
5. Dec 26, 2003: Memory Select
Wrong Right Wrong
3. Jun 01, 2007: Memory Select
The Neon Truth, Red Shift
6. Dec 19, 2003: Memory Select
Red Shift

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2003-11-21
Larry Ochs Sax and Drumming Core:

One sax and two drummers, led by Larry Ochs of the ROVA Sax Quartet. Has the feel of the Coltrane/Ali duets, but with more "concept" behind it ... The music is inspired by chant-singing and the blues, and those voices are present throughout, even though Ochs doesn't stick to specific melodies.

Overall feel from Ochs' sax is grand, like an improv Spanish fanfare. Both drummers (Scott Amendola, Donald Robinson) are fantastic local players. This is a nice trio to see live, to watch them play their styles against one another.

1- Grand and slow, a sour-toned Spanish fanfare. Large, stumbly drums
2- Quiet piping sopranino sax. Softly rattling drums. Calm mood with energy bubbling underneath.
3- Joyous little blasts
4- Fast; includes raucous drum duet.
5- Quiet
6- Mid/fast, bright but bluesy feel
7- Swirly, fast
8- Quiet bluesy splash

Track Listing
1. Wrong Right Wrong   5. Xanic Rides Again
2. The Neon Truth   6. And Nothing But...
3. Give Me 209   7. Red Shift
4. Finn Crosses Mars   8. Blues Keep Calling