Malefaction / Where there Is Power there Is
Album: Where there Is Power there Is   Collection:General
Artist:Malefaction   Added:Oct 2003
Label:G7 Welcoming Committee  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-02-02 Pull Date: 2004-04-05 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Mar 21 Mar 14 Mar 7 Feb 29 Feb 15 Feb 8
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 03, 2010: public noize racket
Ongoing Plaque
4. Mar 04, 2004: Dolce!
Another World Is Possible
2. Mar 17, 2004: Being Johnn...
Ongoing Plaque
5. Mar 02, 2004: Baptism of Solitude
Ongoing Plaque
3. Mar 09, 2004: Baptism of Solitude
A Cold Ward for a Cold World
6. Feb 26, 2004: Dolce!
Faceless Thousands

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-02-03
Intense metalcore with melodic hardcore leanings. Fast, intense, but with some melodic guitars. Extreme political and social lyrics. A good number of songs beginning with samples and you can understand some of the screaming. While this is very heavy and fast music, there are very few metal influences and it’s nowhere near as heavy as the artwork makes it look. From Winnipeg, Canada.
**1. Short, fast, intense, with borderline grindcore sound.
2. Straight forward fast, hardcore. Slight crust sound.
3. Choppy guitars.
**4. Begins with a great sample. “Everything You People Believe is Bullshit”. Fast, chaotic, with lots of changes.
**5. The album has not let up for one second yet. This track actually has a slower, heavy, choppy breakdown.
**6. More melodic and slower pace with some nice bass. I love the hardcore usage of octaves on the guitar.
7. Choppy guitar and sample to begin. Stays slower with the heavy choppy guitar most of the way.
**8. Wonderful fast metal-ish riff/metalcore riff into a chaotic noisy sound. The opening riff reminds me a bit of Lamb of God. Damn this track is intense.
9. Short and fast.
10. This track begins relentless but then takes a nice and surprising melodic turn.
**11. Not a lot different from the rest except this one actually has a mosh part.
12. By now you’ve got the idea of what this disc sounds like. Heavier guitar on this track.
**13. Fast with swirling guitar riff with quick gallop thrown in.
14. Tight and long with some blast beats. Track fades out with 2 minutes left. 15. Odd sounding, almost old-school-joke-hardcore sound but still political. More of a punk sound.
A great metalcore record! -mph

Track Listing
1. Old Gods, New Blasphemies   8. Ongoing Plaque
2. Conected   9. Self Involved
3. Fighting the National Securi   10. Another World Is Possible
4. Right Wing Obsolescence   11. Dark Side of the Nation
5. The New American Century   12. People - Hope
6. Faceless Thousands   13. A Cold Ward for a Cold World
7. Red Industry   14. Closer to Quiet