Fuck-Off Machete / My First Machete
Album: My First Machete   Collection:General
Artist:Fuck-Off Machete   Added:Mar 2004

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-05-03 Pull Date: 2004-07-05
Week Ending: Jul 4 Jun 27 Jun 20 Jun 13 Jun 6 May 30 May 23 May 16
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3 3 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 19, 2007: Fiction Romance
4. Aug 17, 2005: Epic Soundtracks
Watch Them Crash
2. Sep 16, 2006: Anywhere Out of the World
My Machines
5. Jun 28, 2005: Lick My Epic Guitar
3. Oct 19, 2005: Anywhere Out of the World
6. Mar 15, 2005: The Devil Collective - Songs for Murray
Watch Them Crash

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-04-19
Minimal, messy noise pop dominated by the sultry and deliciously scary vocals of Natasha Noramly (born in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; ex-Ganger, who split in 2000). Debut LP from this Glasgow trio. Call them 'F-Off Machete.' Vocals range from the forced whisper of Fiel Garvie's Ann Reekie to the disaffection of Black Box Recorder's Sarah Nixey to the scream-art of Kaito's Niki Colk to the ageless innocence of Sugarcubes-era Bjork. I think I'm in love. Great lyrics, too. Definitely in my top 10 for 2004. All great but Start with 2, 3.

1. Starts with solo guitar. Downtempo with whispered vox, evolves to more rhythmic... reminds me a bit of Bush Tetras. A nice, minimal, threatening ballad.
=> 2. Sourly melodic, slow, and lilting, but wait... aggressive, Kaito-like breaks! "There's the truth, it was hiding behind you. There's the door, it's open in front of you." Nice feedback ending.
=> 3. Folky, strummed guitar starts a whispered ballad. Slow/fast, soft/loud. Fiel Garvie-ish, then rocks out. "So cold here. Can I pull the covers over me? It's hard to stay in love." Noramly's accent melts me.
4. Very slow build... takes ~30 secs to get to full volume. Medium tempo, you can dance to it. "I said let's, let's, let's/fall in trust."
5. Male vocals to start. Slow, jazzy, and dreamy. Lots of tremelo.
6. Soft to start, but quickly gets noisy and dirty. A bit Stooges-like, but with female, forced-whisper vox. Quiet middle then nice & noisy to abrupt end.
7. Jazzy strummed guitar & drums to start. Mid-tempo. Sing-song vox.
8. FCC. The most consistently aggressive track. Mid-fast. "My machines, they're out of this world." Fucked-up time-signature changes during chorus. FCC: "fuck-off machete" at end of song.
9. Possible FCC. Slow, nursery-rhyme/lounge strangeness. Gets louder and semi-electronic with retro/toy-like synth noises. Ends with 30 seconds of noise and a chime-like synthesized voice saying (FCC) "fuck-off machete," but I doubt it's recognizable as such.

Track Listing
1. Minority Gang   5. Warm Electricity
2. Gone   6. Sudosu
3. Watch Them Crash   7. Sanctuary
4. Fall in Trust   8. My Machines
  9. Panda