Pinhas, Richard / Tranzition
Album: Tranzition   Collection:General
Artist:Pinhas, Richard   Added:Mar 2004
Label:Cuneiform Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-07-12 Pull Date: 2004-09-12 Charts: Electronic, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Aug 15 Aug 8 Aug 1 Jul 25 Jul 18
Airplays: 1 2 1 4 7

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 10, 2009: Brownian Motion Sub
Aboulafia Blues
4. Jan 28, 2005: Distraction-Limited
Aboulafia Blues
2. May 24, 2007: Fiction Romance
Moumoune Girl
5. Aug 10, 2004: Come Play in the Milky Night
Aboulafia Blues
3. Aug 17, 2005: Come Play In The Milky Night, Chapter 5 (Final): Evening On The Edge Of Tomorrow
6. Aug 04, 2004: press and release

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-05-31
Hypnotic, cinematic electronica with looping, processed guitar and real drums. Mostly instrumental; some sampled spoken word. Guitarist/programmer Pinhas was in revolutionary '70s French electronic rockers Heldon -- one of the spacerock bands, as they were called, that led to techno and its offshoots. Pinhas has a PhD in Philosophy and a fascination with sci fi. Start with 3, 4.

1. Mid-tempo, begins very soft and reaches full volume after about 90 seconds. Hypnotic and luxuriant. Instrumental. No particular melody. Maintains intensity throughout. Ends with solo drums.
2. Beginning sounds like robot orchestra tuning up. Washes of noisy sounds. No drums for first 5 mins. Voice is SF author Philip K. Dick. Last several minutes are psychedelic noise with searing electric guitar, then back to washes of noise.
=> 3. Soft, SF-soundtrack beginning. Very hypnotic and beautiful. Then fast, break-beat drums change the mood and character, adding an almost industrial edge. Sensual tension between drums and drones. Deeply layered. Cool. Drums stop... ends with fading drones.
=> 4. An electronic, multichromatic waterfall of sound. Distorted, processed, female French spoken word samples. This song gives me chills. Slow fade at end.
5. Delicate, open, plinky beginning. 24 minutes long. More deep, hypnotic washes of alien sound. Do not audition while driving or operating heavy machinery. This one has no voice and no drums.

Track Listing
1. Dextro   3. Tranzition
2. Moumoune Girl   4. Aboulafia Blues
  5. Metatron