Lindsay, Arto / Salt
Album: Salt   Collection:World
Artist:Lindsay, Arto   Added:May 2004
Label:Firma/Righteous Babe  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-06-07 Pull Date: 2004-08-09 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Aug 8 Aug 1 Jul 25 Jul 18 Jul 11 Jul 4 Jun 27 Jun 20
Airplays: 1 1 3 1 6 3 5 6

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 10, 2022: Some Songs Without Words
4. Dec 03, 2004: No Cover, No Minimum - Favorites of 2004, Part 1
Kamo (Dark Stripe)
2. Dec 15, 2006: No Cover, No Minimum
5. Oct 08, 2004: No Cover No Minimum - "What's This Button Do?"
3. Sep 01, 2005: Umami of Sound
6. Aug 07, 2004: Morning Glory

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-06-03
Righteous Babe, 2004

Wow. This may be my favorite album of the year so far, in any genre...

Many KZSU folks will know Arto Lindsay from his older work with no-wave pioneers DNA, the downtown-jazz Lounge Lizards, or the avant-pop duo Ambitious Lovers. But Lindsay has been putting out solo records for several years (most of which are in KZSU's library), in which he merges all of these diverse yet related styles with the sounds of his native Brazil. In "Salt," Lindsay’s sweet everyman voice hops easily between Portuguese and English in 10 poetic tunes that defy category, but will appeal to fans of modern Brazilian music, innovative pop, downtempo electronica, or almost anything else. If Caetano Veloso spent 30 years in Greenwich Village, he might sound like this. Do not fear the orange sticker! Play this and enjoy!

Every track is excellent.

1. infectious ballad, deceptively simple with stark drum machine + piano
2. sparkly downtempo groove with retro-soul keyboards, sweet vocal
3. midtempo samba-electronica, good percussion, pensive vocal, horns
4. tweaky, stripped-down, hiphoppish backing for a plain vocal ditty
5. rich environment of acoustic guitar & strings; quiet, thoughtful vocal
6. David Byrne-ish: upbeat funky backing, near-spoken Portuguese lyric
7. sinister bassline + choppy/noisy sound effects, simple spoken lyric
8. 30 years of keyboard styles mashed together with a samba-soul beat
9. relaxed tempo, oddball keyboards, processed violin, arrhythmic vocal
10. filtered vocal cuts through complex computerized melodic layers

[ Fo ] – 6/3/2004

Track Listing
1. Habite Em Mim   6. Jardim Da Alma
2. Kamo (Dark Stripe)   7. De Lama Lamina
3. Personagem   8. Combustivel
4. Twins   9. Make that Sound
5. Into Shade   10. Salt