Jones, Quincy/Bill Cosby / Original Jam Sessions, the
Album:Original Jam Sessions, the Collection:Jazz
Artist:Jones, Quincy/Bill Cosby Added:Jun 2004
Label:Concord Jazz, Inc. 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2004-06-14 Pull Date:2004-08-16 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Aug 15Aug 8Aug 1Jul 25Jul 18Jul 11Jul 4Jun 27

Recent Airplay
1.Apr 23, 2015:Jump, Jive, & Jazz
Groovy Gravy
4.Dec 15, 2010:Getting Over the Hump
2.Feb 23, 2012:Sunshine . . . in the Afternoon
5.Aug 05, 2010:Sunshine . . . in the Afternoon
Toe Jam
3.Apr 27, 2011:Morning Glory!
Hikky-Burr (Bonus Track: MIX MASTER MIKE REMIX)
6.Jan 06, 2010:Getting Over ... First Hump of 2010!
Hikky-Burr (featuring Bill Cosby)

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2004-06-13 

Classic sessions recorded in 1969 for The Bill Cosby Show on NBC, for which Quincy was the music director. Featuring an insanely all-star cast including Jimmy Smith, Les McCann, Milt Jackson, etc. Never previously released.

This is nice funky stuff with an easygoing vibe, most of it recorded during informal jams.

The recordings keep that impromptu "jam" feel but clearly weren't intended for release -- some tracks sound like they're starting in the middle of something (5,8); others end abruptly (4). No matter; this is great stuff that deserves to see light of day.

1- Kind of a calm funk jam. A take on the theme music for Cosby's show.
*2- Strong jam, led by Les McCann on piano
3- Relaxed, cool-handed midtempo
* 4- Hammond organ solo (Jimmy Smith), burbly & cooking. Stops abruptly.
5- Bright jam, with sax & vibes solos. Starts strangely, like an outtake
* 6- Cool and loungy, with electric piano
* 7- Slow blues. Monty Alexander on electric piano; Ernie Watts on sax.
8- Bright bluesy quartet led by Monty Alexander on piano
9- Delicate violin(!) interlude
*10- Reprise of (1), with Bill Cosby clowning around
11- Mix Master Mike remix of (10)

Track Listing
1.Hikky-Burr 6.Jive Den
2.Groovy Gravy 7.Eubie Walkin'
3.Oh Happy Day 8.Monty, Is that You?
4.Jimmy Cookin' on Top 9.The Drawing Room
5.Toe Jam 10.Hikky-Burr
 11.Hikky-Burr (Bonus Track)