Various Artists / Zen Rmx Retrospective
Album: Zen Rmx Retrospective   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jul 2004
Label:Ninja Tune  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-08-02 Pull Date: 2004-10-03 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Oct 3 Sep 26 Sep 19 Sep 12 Sep 5 Aug 29 Aug 22 Aug 15
Airplays: 3 4 6 4 3 4 7 5

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 06, 2022: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Heaven & Earth Remix
4. May 12, 2014: Pumping Iron
Scratch Yer Head (Sqrpusher), Heaven & Earth Remix
2. Dec 14, 2021: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Heaven & Earth Remix
5. Jun 27, 2013: Schlepping Cobalt
Turtle Soup (Luke Vibert Mx), Heaven & Earth Remix, Scratch Yer Head (Sqrpusher)
3. Feb 01, 2016: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Heaven & Earth Remix
6. Jul 24, 2010: lost and found
Turtle Soup (Luke Vibert Mx)

Album Review
Captain Dee
Reviewed 2004-08-01
Ninja Tune – arguably the premier label in trip-hop and jazzy beats – has compiled two full CDs of remixes of label residents including DJ Food, Herbaliser, Bonobo, DJ Vadim, Coldcut, and Cinematic Orchestra. The list of remixers here is incredible: Sqaurepusher, Manitoba, Four Tet, Luke Vibert, Dr. Rockit, Cornelius and more. In other words, this is one hell of a compilation!

In some cases, I was a bit disappointed. Given the quality of the remixing talent, some of the mixes fall a bit flat, or fail to enrich the original versions. On the other hand, there are some incredible works here that cannot be missed:

* Track 2 (CD 1) is one of my all time favorite remixes! Sqaurepusher rules!!
* Track 1 (CD 2) is a gorgeous, spacey mix of some Cinematic Orchestra
* Track 9 (CD 2) is an extended mix of one of the dopest Ninja Tune hits ever

Also check out CD One: 7, 8 and CD Two (the stronger CD): 2, 4, 6, 10

Track by track inside booklet ----->

- Captain Dee 7/04

CD 1:

1. Repeated, tweaked voice and complex rockin' beat. Cornelius brings his repertoire of crazy sounds. (7:19)
***2. FUCK YES!!! This Sqaurepusher remix is one of my absolute favorites. Drill & bass madness with the grooviest bass playing. Oh my good lord, check out the break at ~4:50! (7:17)
3. FCC Violations (albeit quiet). Fast, muddled spoken word set to dark videogame noises, sleek bassline and drum. (2:56)
4. Pounding bass anchors quintessential Four Tet wind chimes and folksy vibe with electronics. Messy, jazzy feel. (7:11)
5. Hip-hop beat, effusions of bass, trippy melodies lurk in the background. Later, slow scratching, repeated sample, and drum & bass beat. A sparse track. (7:02)
6. Uptempo beat, bass-heavy pulse. Echoing horns and other noises swim menacingly in the background. (8:24)
*7. Sexy, jazzy beat & bass with introspective piano. (3:16)
*8. Groovin' rhythm, wonky melodies. Goofy yet badass – in a way as only Luke Vibert can. (7:54)
9. Strummed guitar, nasal singing, plucked strings, simple beat, and some scratching. (4:45)
10. Jazzy, but everything is highly cut up. Borders on broken beat, but lazier. Sampled singing. (6:07)

CD 2:

**1. Wonderful jazzy drums, space-y synths, cosmic sounds, female vocals that ponder the stars. Beautiful! (6:34)
*2. Nighttime insects chirping, soothing/pulsing chimes, atmospheric spoken samples, great drum line. (5:47)
3. Get-down clapping beat, sound effects, melodic soundscapes. (6:28)
*4. Funky jam with bass and various electronic-ish melodies and sounds. Sounds a bit electro, but way smoother. (7:39)
5. Bossa nova guitars and beat, soulful female vocals and brass. (3:47)
*6. The Brazillian vibe continues – this almost sounds like "Mas Que Nada." Sexy female vocals, catchy guitar, cheerful horns. Fun stuff. (4:08)
7. Cacophony of rattles gives way to sleek, jazzy jam w/ spoken samples and chimes. Ethereal end. (8:49)
8. FCC Violations throughout. Gritty hip hop sound, tweaked rapping. (4:02)
**9. An extended, slightly chilled mix of one of the trip-hop greats. Ultra tight rolling beat, with ominous ambience and spooky clarinet. Incredible! (7:51)
*10. Once again, great source material, but the remix doesn't change much. Off-kilter piano and strings (cello?) give way to dramatic counterparts. (5:58)

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Coldcut Atomic Moog (Cornelius Mix)
2. Dj Food Scratch Yer Head (Sqrpusher)
3. East Flatbush Project Tried By 12 (Sqrpusher Mix)
4. Bonobo Pick Up (Four Tet Mix)
5. 2 Player Extreme Poss. (Wagon Christ)
6. Mr. Scruff Sweetsmoke (Manitoba Mix)
7. Dj Vadim Ussr Reconstr. (Jamie Hodge)
8. Dj Food Turtle Soup (Luke Vibert Mx)
9. Fog Pneumonia (Coldcut Mix)
10. Cinematic Orchestra All that You Give, Rockit Mx
11. Cinematic Orchestra Evolution Ii (Mr P Mix)
12. Dj Food Consciousness, Ashley Beedle
13. Cinematic Orchestra Man W/ the Movie Camera, Mix
14. Beedle, Ashley Heaven & Earth Remix
15. Herbaliser Something Wicked (Bossa Mix)
16. Bowden, Chris Crockers & Killers (Mix)
17. Irresistible Force Fish Dances (Gallano Mix)
18. Dj Vadim Edie Brikell (Sixtoo Mix)
19. Dj Food The Crow (Kaleidoscope Mix)
20. Herbaliser Mrs Chombee... (Dj Food Mix)