Earle, Steve / Revolution Starts...Now, the
Album: Revolution Starts...Now, the   Collection:General
Artist:Earle, Steve   Added:Aug 2004
Label:Artemis Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-11-15 Pull Date: 2005-01-17
Week Ending: Jan 16 Jan 9 Jan 2 Dec 5 Nov 28 Nov 21
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 15, 2023: Traditions
Rich Man's War
4. Apr 20, 2018: Traditions
The Revolution Starts
2. Jul 29, 2022: Traditions
The Gringo's Tale
5. Oct 02, 2009: The Songsmith Show
The Revolution Starts
3. Apr 19, 2019: Traditions
The Revolution Starts
6. May 06, 2008: Peace at the Cafe Bohemian
Rich Man's War

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2004-11-04
Black listed by Nashville, shunned by LA, Steve Earle has spent a career refusing to fit into anyones niche yet has somehow managed to nurture a career. How? By churning out excellent songs. Texas born this is decidedly country fare yet his subject matter and approach allows it to cross boundaries. You wont find any new-country cheese, “patriotic” jingo’ism that Nashville seems to have exploding diarrhea fits with these days here. Au contraire, there is enough protest music in here to get you through the next four years. Earle reminds us that Texas was the original home of the anti-federalist rebel, that the state refused to conform, once upon a time. Its no small irony, or sign, that this cd doesn’t have a red (country/bluegrass) sticker. Play this with your other protest music, alt.country, mopey indie rock. Note anti-war songs 3, 5, the anti FCC song 7 (but don’t play it!), and the love song written to Condileeza Rice 6.

1) simple mid paced roots rock with great message “the revolution starts now” but a little too slick for my tastes
2) good hard country, trucks, texas, what else you want?
3) “just another poor boy off to fight a rich man’s war”, excellent with pleasant south of the border feel
4) wow, spoken word venom intro to heavy alt.country feel
5) pleasant western twang to this harsh out anti war song, pro-pacifism
6) carribo flare, love song for Condileeza Rice (!)
7) FCCs “fuck the FCC”
8) duet with female vocalist, just a great song
9) bitter jaded song about love, great
10) borders on a new country feel with soaring melody hook
11) redux of track 1

Track Listing
1. The Revolution Starts   6. Condi, Condi
2. Home to Houston   7. F the Cc
3. Rich Man's War   8. Comin' Around
4. Warrior   9. I Thought You Should Know
5. The Gringo's Tale   10. The Seeker
  11. The Revolution Starts Now