Williams, Saul / Saul Williams
Album: Saul Williams   Collection:General
Artist:Williams, Saul   Added:Oct 2004

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-10-18 Pull Date: 2004-12-20
Week Ending: Dec 19 Dec 12 Dec 5 Nov 28 Nov 21 Nov 14 Nov 7 Oct 31
Airplays: 2 3 3 4 2 4 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 01, 2011: Music Casserole
4. Nov 08, 2007: Trip Over Zero
Talk to Strangers
2. Apr 03, 2009: Emphysema For Emphasis
5. Nov 14, 2006: how many licks does it take, mr. owl?
Talk to Strangers
3. Dec 06, 2007: Trip Over Zero
Talk to Strangers
6. Oct 11, 2006: knifefishhappyhour
Talk to Strangers

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2004-10-13
Noted slam poet, spoken word, free-style activist hip hopster gives us an awesome CD beyond simple classification (hip hop? Spoken?). And thanks to a radio clean version, we benenfit with tense rock samples, uber intelligent thought streams, funky beats, ass tearing rock. In fact, the rock samples seem to predominate, but with no compromise to the funk, hip hop and over all quality that permeates. My only complaint is that he doenst address the war on Iraq. Nonetheless, EXCELLENT.

1) spoken word, tense minor piano based music, about life, god, “the fat girl in your dorm”, excellent
2) Fuck!! One of Chrome’s best riffs used as primary sample, padded with great electro beats, a dancehall type rap delivery, funky.
Finally someone recognized the beat-friendly genius of pre-80’s SF noise rock band Chrome
3) heavy, near metal soundbed, low fi, spoken hip hop delivery, about hip hop and the death thereof
4) experimental hip hop feel, think Dalek, a subversive grinding beat soundbed w/ great hip hop vocs
5) cool near electrorock feel “list of demands”
6) basic beat, ode to African roots, minimal, nice noises
7) nice swingy beat, funky delivery, cool, sexy, personal “too black”-about black skin, white slave masters raping to dilute skin color- black Stacey, with dubby backbeat
8) funky simple beat w/ a timely vocal delivery, brief
9) greath rhythm, excellent free-style spoken, personal, romantic, “deep down I think she’s stupid”
10) funky intro turns driving rock w/ slow phrased awesome lyrical delivery
11) spoken word takes forefront, nice rhymes about gas prices, exploitation
12) pensive singing, dark backwards beats, spooky, cool

Track Listing
1. Talk to Strangers   7. Black Stacey
2. Grippo   8. Pg
3. Telegraph   9. Surrender
4. Act 3 Scene 2   10. Control Frek
5. List of Demands   11. Seaweed
6. African Student Movement   12. Notice of Eviction