Misty Roses / Komodo Dragons
Album: Komodo Dragons   Collection:General
Artist:Misty Roses   Added:Nov 2004
Label:Frog Man Jake  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-03-13 Pull Date: 2005-05-15
Week Ending: Mar 20
Airplays: 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 15, 2005: The Devil Collective - Songs for Murray
Up in Flames

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-03-07
Soul-pop. The promo notes can claim whatever they want, but here’s the gist: Marvin Gaye rip-off with British mellow-saccharine rock (e.g., Starsailor) twist and The Love Boat theme style vox. Trying to be interesting, if the soaring tenor vox don’t annoy you, you may find this entertaining. Tracks 10-13 are remixes of some earlier tracks.
1. Shakers, high-pitched pretentious vox.
2. What’s going on? Think about the children! Soul pop emotional attempt, trip-hop touch later.
3. Guitar lifted from Marvin, Tindersticks, harp, strings, winds.
4. * Elaborate percussion, trumpets, more subdued vox. *
5. Slower, harp, darker.
6. Strings, slow drumbeat, little electronica, more of same.
7. Bells, ringing keys, psych guitar shortly.
8. Quiet verses, soaring chorus, fuzzy effects.
9. * “Lo fi” noise, acoustic strum, different, pop/folk, male/female vox, near-spoken at end. *
10. * Remix of 1. Beat, sample of spoken vocals, shrieks, almost no singing vox. *
11. Remix of 4. “Rock&roll” casiobeat, vox, soaring guitars.
12. Remix of 3. Harsh electrobeat, turns tribal.
13. * Remix of 5, dark beat, samples, nice. *

Track Listing
1. Fathers and Sons   7. Gertrude
2. Hurricane Lamp   8. Skyline
3. Into the Sky   9. Jellypop Perky Jean
4. Up in Flames   10. Fathers and Sons
5. Komodo Dragons   11. Up in Flames
6. Address Book   12. Into the Sky
  13. Komodo Dragons