Ajaye, Franklin / Vagabond Jazz & the Abstract T
Album: Vagabond Jazz & the Abstract T   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Ajaye, Franklin   Added:Feb 2005

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-02-13 Pull Date: 2005-04-17 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 20
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 05, 2023: Music Casserole
Scarborough Faire
4. Mar 11, 2005: Memory Select
Deja Blue
2. Apr 01, 2005: Memory Select
Harlem Rooftop Conversation
5. Mar 05, 2005: Morning Glory
Scarborough Faire
3. Mar 26, 2005: the Dog and Pony show
6. Mar 01, 2005: Umami Jazz Program
Get on the Train

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2005-02-11
Drifting and gently grooving pieces, mostly with clarinet and bass. Lots like an ECM record including an echoey sound. The tracks have a nice slowed-down jazz groove to them; they’re slow but not sleepy and (mostly) going for something tougher than that lyrical new-age feel.

Ajaye is a stand-up comic -- “The Jazz Comedian” he called himself -- whose career goes back to the ‘70s. He’s a pretty funny guy who’s made a living lately as a TV writer but still performs. He’s playing the clarinet on these tracks, with brother Eric supplying all the other instruments. Included with the Music CD is a disc of one of Franklin’s performances from 2000.

1- A floaty kind of cool. Relaxed groove with bass & clarinet
2- Cavernous and wandering.
3- Bass and clarinet again; nice recurring bass riff
4- Romantic; verges on smooth jazz
5- Meditative Miles cover
6- Slow, peaceful
7- Adds percussion for some different color
8- Slow. Nice beat develops towards the end.
9- Adds quiet, piping trumpet
10- Gentle start develops into a nice upbeat groove.

Track Listing
1. Voyage   6. Vagabond
2. Deja Blue   7. Get on the Train
3. Forest Walk   8. The Key of Sea
4. Pearls   9. Harlem Rooftop Conversation
5. In a Silent Way   10. Scarborough Faire