Iron & Wine / Woman King
Album: Woman King   Collection:General
Artist:Iron & Wine   Added:Feb 2005
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-03-06 Pull Date: 2005-05-08
Week Ending: May 8 May 1 Apr 24 Apr 17 Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20
Airplays: 4 1 4 3 2 4 3 7

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 04, 2024: Traditions
Freedom Hangs Like Heaven
4. Feb 03, 2016: funk to fiddle
Freedom Hangs Like Heaven
2. May 15, 2017: Mixed Nuts
My Lady's House, Woman King
5. Apr 09, 2014: Funk to Folk
Freedom Hangs Like Heaven
3. Apr 13, 2016: funk to fiddle
Freedom Hangs Like Heaven
6. Jul 19, 2011: changin' it up (part one)

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-03-02
Americana, neo-folk, etc. Second EP and 4th record from Sam Beam (aka Iron & Wine). If you don’t know who I&W are by this stage, give this a listen! He branches out on this recording with electric guitar (woah!). Lyrics and vocals are still cryptic/ poetic and hushed. Often, nice female harmonies. Not my favorite recording of his, but still really good.
My Picks: 1, 2, 4, 5
1. acoustic guitar, slide guitar, electric guitar. bottles and other such percussion.
2. studio recording of this bootlegger’s favorite (9/20/02 seesions). guitar and what sounds like dulcimer. piano near the end.
3. drums, guitar. m+f vox.
4. my favorite. quick. classic I&W fingerpicked guitar. hushed vocals. has a nice groove to it.
5. med-slow. jingling bells. guitar. sublte, low percussion. piano, organ and slide guitar in the later half.
6. FCC (“fuck” at 0:56 in). “world” percussion. violin. distorted electric guitar. honestly, at times sounds like a bad soundtrack for people running through the jungle.

Track Listing
1. Woman King   4. Freedom Hangs Like Heaven
2. Jezebel   5. My Lady's House
3. Gray Stables   6. Evening on the Ground