Kilar, Wojciech / Tryptyk
Album: Tryptyk   Collection:Classical
Artist:Kilar, Wojciech   Added:May 2005
Label:Dux Recording Producers  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-05-29 Pull Date: 2005-07-31 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jul 31 Jul 10 Jun 12 Jun 5
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 16, 2012: The Conscious Soul
4. Jul 08, 2005: The Dog and Pony Show
2. Feb 04, 2006: High Society
5. Jun 11, 2005: The Dog and Pony show
3. Jul 25, 2005: Mixed-Up Class
6. Jun 04, 2005: Alex

Album Review
Alex Dunn
Reviewed 2005-06-28
Post romantic compositions by Polish composer Wojciech Kilar. Similar to Shostakovich, but with more modern touches. Excellent, powerful stuff. The orchestra and singers are quite good. The texts are all religious. I especially liked 1 and 2.

1) Ominous snare drum fades in and out, then tempani, brass and anguished chorus. Low tenors, bases. Later, angry sopranos. Harrowing, and powerful 7:30, quiet, suspended section. Quiet and utterly gorgeous, then one last huge blast of the initial theme (watch the board!)
2) Begins with whispered prayer. Chant becomes louder 2:30, timpani. 5:00 soprano solo. Gradually becomes more lush. Gets quiet 14:00. Slowly winds down into mysticism. Last minute almost inaudible whispering.
3) Solo clarinet, then trumpet and orchestra. Theme taken from Jewish folk song. Becomes a triumphal march half way through. Odd, creeping and tense, then big ending.


Track Listing
1. Bogurodzica   2. Angeles
  3. Exodus