Sleater-Kinney / Woods, the
Album: Woods, the   Collection:General
Artist:Sleater-Kinney   Added:May 2005
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-06-19 Pull Date: 2005-08-21
Week Ending: Aug 21 Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 31 Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3
Airplays: 2 2 2 4 5 7 4 4

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 18, 2023: The Doghouse
4. Apr 28, 2016: Munch Time
Modern Girl
2. Apr 24, 2019: The Fuzz Deli
5. Aug 27, 2015: Meow
Night Light
3. May 13, 2017: Homeroom
6. Apr 27, 2015: Shytown
Steep Air

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-06-11
7th album, new label, new producer (Dave Fridmann of Flaming Lips fame), new recording location (rural NY). Sleater-Kinney sounds louder, larger, rawer, and fiercer than ever. Prepared to be pleasantly surprised as they go metal, psychedelic, classic rock, and even cock rock. Basically they go everywhere but where they've been before! Packed with distortion and awesomely intricate guitar solos. Blatantly arrhythmic. Signature commanding vocals at their best, layered "backing vocals" always worked well as they do here, and Janet Weiss keeps everything feeling immediate and moving forward with big drum beats. Moves away from political bent of One Beat. Refreshing and exciting. The entire album is great and the tracks really play off each other.

1. So much fuzz you'll think the speakers are messed up. Ruckus. Grungy. Allegorical lyrics delivered with mix of spoken-singing and high wailing.
2. Awesome guitar solos with backwards effects.
**3. Doubled-up vocals. Conversational song. Trippy guitar solo mid song that leads into change of pace before going back.
**4. Alternates between group sing into single emphatic vocal. Suicidal lyrics—sympathetic.
**5. Purposefully saccharine. Sardonic and pretty. Flute gets neatly weaved into feedback.
6. The single. Calls out shallow art, most harshly bands mining post-punk nostalgia and producing second rate junk. Fighting words! FCC: FUCK
7. More bouncy and a little racy over nice underlying drums. Short pause midway.
8. Slower. Relationship song. Cool drum effect of building intensity, but not as interesting.
**9. Over 11 min about sex delivered with attitude and swagger. Both guitars and drums veer off in different directions but manage to converge awesomely. Sounds like frenzied improvisation. FCC: fucking (delivered fast enough you might miss it)
**10. Weaved into the end of last track. Intense but solemn and eerie.

Track Listing
1. The Fox   6. Entertain
2. Wilderness   7. Rollercoaster
3. What's Mine Is Yours   8. Steep Air
4. Jumpers   9. Let's Call It Love
5. Modern Girl   10. Night Light