Melford, Myra/The Tent / Where the Two Worlds Touch
Album: Where the Two Worlds Touch   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Melford, Myra/The Tent   Added:Jun 2005
Label:Arabesque Jazz  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-06-19 Pull Date: 2005-08-21 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 31 Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 05, 2017: No Cover, No Minimum
Where the Two Worlds Touch
4. Jan 18, 2011: Rebop
Where the Two Worlds Touch
2. Nov 06, 2015: Rebop
Where the Two Worlds Touch, Eight
5. Feb 10, 2006: Memory Select
Where the Ocean Misquotes the Sky [excerpt]
3. Nov 29, 2011: Rebop
Where the Two Worlds Touch, Eight
6. Jan 13, 2006: Memory Select
No News at All

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2005-06-20
Complex, adventurous jazz with an "outside" focus but plenty of catchy moments for "inside" fans to like. The slower tracks can be floaty and beautiful (1); the faster ones can have a crisp bite that recalls Melford's early piano-trio albums (3,6).

Melford also does a lot of work on harmonium (accordion-sounding instrument) for a different feel on 4,8.

Stomu Takeishi's bass adds a fluid sound. Chris Speed (sax) and Cuong Vu (trumpet) are longtime compatriots in atmosphere-painting bands like Yeah No.

1- Pretty. Floating.
2- Pleasantly complex tune with open, flowing soloing. Gets crashing and stormy.
3- Aggressive and crazy. Dramatic Spanish tinge.
4- Calm first half featuring harmonium, both solo and as a droning backdrop for others' solos. Melford switches to piano for a quiet but energetic solo, mid/fast and pretty. A patient 12-minute track.
5- Slow, with forceful gray-sky swirling
6- Brisk and upbeat
7- Expansive, atmospheric start. Solos include a driving sax segment and a fast-popping piano/drums segment.
8- A cool funky step ... into swirly, nearly Indian lines. Sluggish midtempo feel.

Track Listing
1. Eight   5. Secrets to Tell You
2. Where the Two Worlds Touch   6. Everything Today
3. Brainfire and Buglight   7. Hello Dreamers
4. Where the Ocean Misquotes...   8. No News at All