Gush [Gustaffson/Sandell/Strid / Norrkoping
Album: Norrkoping   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Gush [Gustaffson/Sandell/Strid   Added:Jul 2005
Label:Atavistic/Truckstop Audio  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-08-14 Pull Date: 2005-10-16 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Sep 25 Sep 18 Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 21
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 23, 2005: Memory Select
4. Sep 06, 2005: Umami Jazz Program
2. Sep 16, 2005: Memory Select
5. Aug 30, 2005: Umami Jazz Program
3. Sep 13, 2005: Umami Jazz Progam
6. Aug 19, 2005: Memory Select
Rhomb [excerpt]

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2005-08-14
Trio of sax, piano, drums, doing freely improvised jazz. On sax, Mats Gustafsson flashes his usual vicious style -- he's done some punk-like work in the past -- while Sten Sandell keeps things in a jazzy vein on piano. It's not one big blur, though -- the three long tracks feature plenty of casual, introspective (but fast) periods. Nice stuff that's well worth the long playing times.

1- Careful start soon blossoms into a growing aggression for just a couple minutes. Lots of concentration on restraint and texture, leaving enough space for dialogue... c.f. pause point at -8:00 when a crazy/sparse Gustafsson solo develops into a fierce duet w/piano. Last minutes are dire, fierce, passionate.

2- Quiet scratchings to start. Then quiet, sparse, long tones.
At +4:40, hammering piano solo ushers in a new phase including some exciting, dire Gustafsson wailing.

3- Vicious blowout from around -17:00 to -10:00. It's a processional feel before that -- fast playing but calm overall feel.
Around -10:00, things calm down. Then it's big and screaming near the finish.

Track Listing
1. Handpicked   2. Sava
  3. Rhomb