Meshuggah / Catch Thirty-Three
Album: Catch Thirty-Three   Collection:General
Artist:Meshuggah   Added:Aug 2005
Label:Nuclear Blast  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-10-16 Pull Date: 2005-12-18 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Oct 23
Airplays: 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 30, 2012: Flipping Through Time
Disenchantment, Imprint of the Un-Saved, Autonomy Lost
3. Oct 20, 2005: Baptism of Solitude
Personae Non Gratae
2. Jun 14, 2012: Flipping Through Time
Disenchantment, Imprint of the Un-Saved, Autonomy Lost
4. Oct 19, 2005: Brownian Motion
Autonomy Lost

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-10-16
Extreme math metal. And with this, their 2nd concept record (11th release), is really progressive metal. Complex rhythms and counts with a unique guitar sound that is tuned down so far it’s a bass. It seems that it takes a few tracks together for them to complete an idea for example tracks 1-3 are the same riff and run right together. They are from Sweden, formed in 1987 and this is their 5th full length album.
1-3. These 3 tracks run together and work one repeated guitar riff against some very interesting percussion. The riff got on my nerves after a while.
4-6. Dark ambient noise runs through this entire track. Slow, heavy, odd sounding guitar.
7. Slow booming noise (bass?). Ha, spoken computer effected vocals that sound like 80s computer sounds. Then guitar noodleing.
**8. A lurching almost start/stop sound.
9. Lots of changes in this 13 minute track. There is even a quiet part were they bow a guitar and it almost sounds like a cello. The entire middle of the track is quiet with lots of small noises. Modern classical sounding but with rock instruments.
**10. Just when you think you’re going to be pummeled by another riff and their odd timing this track backs off keeping a quieter riff to go along with some guitar noodleing. The track gets heavy again for the last 30 seconds or so.
**11. Continuation of the riff and heaviness from the end of the previous track. Short, relentless, and heavy.
**12-13. Vocals are up front and screamed. One of their guitar players odd solos in the middle. About 2 minutes into track 13 they quiet down and go nearly silent for the remaining 5 minutes. Just quiet guitar sounds.
Hmm. -mph

Track Listing
1. Autonomy Lost   7. Mind's Mirrors
2. Imprint of the Un-Saved   8. In Death - Is Life
3. Disenchantment   9. Shed
4. The Paradoxical Spiral   10. Personae Non Gratae
5. Re-Inanimate   11. Dehumanization
6. Entrapment   12. Sum