El Michels Affair / Sounding Out The City
Album: Sounding Out The City   Collection:General
Artist:El Michels Affair   Added:Sep 2005
Label:Truth & Soul Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-10-30 Pull Date: 2006-01-01
Week Ending: Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 27 Nov 20 Nov 13
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 18, 2023: Some Songs Without Words
El Pueblo Unido
4. Dec 16, 2020: Some Songs Without Words
El Pueblo Unido
2. Jun 08, 2023: darkroom
5. Jul 06, 2017: Clean Copper Radio
3. Feb 25, 2022: Everything in Particular
Hung Up On My Baby
6. Feb 25, 2011: microclimate
Too Lat To Turn Back

Album Review
The Dead Kenny-Gs
Reviewed 2005-10-31
El Michels Affair – Sounding Out in the City
Dope ass instrumental soul. Brand new recording from the Truth & Soul label, featuring many band members from the Daptone stable. This is probably the most soulful album to come out of that camp to date. For the most part, the songs have classic funk elements (drums, guitar, horns), very well recorded in an analog studio. Most highly recommended.
1) *Rolling, melancholy soul instrumental
2) Downtempo, kinda like a Mancini interlude
3) *Medium tempo soul
4) *Electric piano+spoken spanish intro, slightly discordant horn stabs, settles into a groove with a break with a siren
5) **Vibes, sparse, dreamy to start, horns fill in then a dope detuned piano break
6) **Funky mariachi flavor with scratchy funk guitar
7) *Whispered female vox, more full horn sound in a drifting groove
8) **Holy shit! Like a lost Stefano Torrossi (Italian library music composer) track. Flowing, but still hard and funky with strings.
9) *Wistful midtempo groove, Mexican horns, vibes
10) Heavy reverb for a dirtier sound
11) Cover, syncopated Jamaican feel
Tom Purcell October 2005

Track Listing
1. Detroit Twice   6. Ocho Rios
2. Musings To Myself   7. Yennicita
3. Too Lat To Turn Back   8. Creation
4. El Pueblo Unido   9. This Songs For You
5. Behind The Blue Curains   10. Slide Show
  11. Hung Up On My Baby