Allbee, Liz / Quarry Tones
Album: Quarry Tones   Collection:General
Artist:Allbee, Liz   Added:Nov 2005
Label:Resipiscent Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-11-27 Pull Date: 2006-01-29 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jan 29 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 11 Dec 4
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 22, 2009: The Courtesy Flush
A Luminous Can-Can
4. Aug 29, 2008: Oatmeal
Palsied Grace
2. May 08, 2009: Emphysema For Emphasis
Mus And Plinus
5. Jul 27, 2007: Memory Select
Palsied Grace
3. Oct 24, 2008: Memory Select
Fanfare The Goad Offal Ages
6. Jul 24, 2007: Alban Stands There
Palsied Grace

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-11-23
Complex experimental, deals with samples in a very organic manner as Liz s a trumpet player from Oakland. The treatments are dense, cool, a nice juxtaposition of trumpet and noise, even vocals. Her resume is thick, including Metalux, Zeke Sheck, Crack: WAR, Anthony Braxton, MonoPause, Cecil Taylor.

1) very brief, strange waltz with treated vocals “Welcome”
2) weird percussive loops, then gutteral sounds, like a demon throwing up
3) spooky voices over a semi-tribal feel
4) looped organ with horn melody, sick and dark
5) simple Moog’like tones, then mechanical human voices speak-sing over
6) air raid siren type oscillator along with random sample-hold loops, moog, evolves and progresses, getting louder
7) cool loops, noise, layers of brass keeping a subtle melody
8) FCC at very end, horn solo’ed version of moon river
9) cool looped noise, industrial, turns tribal at end

Track Listing
1. Neutronium Umpire   5. Palsied Grace
2. Mus And Plinus   6. Balm For Baleen Gales
3. Ye Hawd   7. Those Whinatheros
4. A Luminous Can-Can   8. Hey Judy G.
  9. Fanfare The Goad Offal Ages