Junior Kelly / Tough Life
Album: Tough Life   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Junior Kelly   Added:Dec 2005
Label:Vp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-12-11 Pull Date: 2006-02-12 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Feb 12 Feb 5 Jan 29 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Dec 25
Airplays: 2 2 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 07, 2006: Farmer Flap-Jack Sessions
Tough Life, Blaze
4. Feb 08, 2006: The Dub Space
Hold The Faith
2. Mar 01, 2006: Afro Rhythms
Youths Dem Nah Cool
5. Feb 08, 2006: Afro Rhythms
Youths Dem Nah Cool
3. Feb 13, 2006: Happy Hour
Tough Life
6. Feb 01, 2006: Deep in the Groove
Not I

Album Review
Sadie McFarlane
Reviewed 2005-12-05
Junior Kelly – Tough Life (VP Records)
Reviewed by Sadie O., 12/5/05
Hard, righteous, in-your-face reggae with unique vocal stylings. Kelly has a voice with a lot of variation, from almost growling some of the toasting parts to occasionally singing quite nicely. The music is straightforward (not dubby), but hard and aggressive, with a female backing chorus sweetening the mix. The rasta hard-times songs are great with a very “stepping razor” vibe, the love songs mostly suck.
No FCC. 1, 9 and 10 are excellent.
1. 4:06 ***militant uptempo skank, hard toast, cool chorus.
2. 4:06 **cool bubble, oft-repeated “blaze” pronounced almost like he’s expelling something bad.
3. 3:29 **rather sweeter sound, with prominent horns and chorus. All sorts of vocalizations by Kelly.
4. 4:22 slow, more sung than toasted, rather commercial sounding.
5. 3:47 cool midtempo bubble, unfortunately there’s very commercial female vocals by JC Lodge. Without her, it would actually be pretty cool.
6. 4:02 midtempo, nice old-school keyboard, overly harmonized chorus.
7. 3:15 *midtempo, sweet vocals by Dennis Brown, complementing Kelly’s toasting and female chorus, very slightly dubby sounding.
8. 3:53 **midtempo, cool rasta lyrics.
9. 4:22 ***great midtempo skank, crazy toasting, fun stuff.
10. 3:27 ***snaky syncopation by Sly and Robbie – yah cool!
11. 3:19 **downtempo nyahbinghi beat, unusual instrumentation for that kind of vibe, but interesting.
12. 4:16 **good lyrics about how mistreating your woman makes you a loser. Kind of strangled sounding delivery in places.
13. 5:08 medtempo, pretty love song.
14. 4:41 starts with talking – attempted seduction. Uptempo and bouncy with decent toasting, but a bit embarrassing in places.
15. 4:05 **cool militant midtempo bump, with some quite odd falsetto bits, fun background noises.
16. 3:32 midtempo love song. Ok.
17. 4:14 midtempo bubble, very roots. Frequent repetition of chorus makes it a tad same-y.

Track Listing
1. Tough Life   9. Not I
2. Blaze   10. Youths Dem Nah Cool
3. Rasta Should Be Deeper   11. Satan Throne
4. Receive   12. Loser
5. Love You Like That   13. Jam For A While
6. Touch My Heart   14. Ease My Pain
7. Hold The Faith   15. Dem Story
8. Jah Give Me Strength   16. The More I See Her
  17. Be Wise