Debonaires, The / Longshout
Album: Longshout   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Debonaires, The   Added:Dec 2005
Label:Jump Up! Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-01-29 Pull Date: 2006-04-02 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Mar 26 Mar 19 Mar 12 Mar 5 Feb 26 Feb 19 Feb 12 Feb 5
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 01, 2010: Music Casserole
No Dice
4. Mar 11, 2006: New World Disorder
No Dice
2. Mar 25, 2006: New World Disorder
Out Of My Life
5. Mar 07, 2006: eclectica: with south asians
Out Of My Life
3. Mar 14, 2006: Morning Glroy -- Full Moon Version
Right Hand Man
6. Mar 01, 2006: The Dub Space
No Dice

Album Review
Sadie McFarlane
Reviewed 2005-12-30
Debonaires, The – Longshout (Jump Up! Records)
Reviewed by Sadie O., 12/30/05
Ska/reggae from Riverside with touches of funk and jazz and a completely deranged vocalist. Most songs ride a strange and interesting balance of mellow and frantic, with sweet rock steady grooves and screamed vocals. Definitely a unique sound!
I didn’t hear any FCCs. I like 8 best – it’s an instrumental, which doesn’t mean you should ignore the crazy vocal tracks like 5, 9-12.
1. 3:43 **electronica intro, into mellow rock steady skank with crazy screamed vocals. Pretty flute solo in middle.
2. 4:48 **uptempo but downbeat ska – rather like roots rock but at ska tempo. Horns go dubwise 3 minutes along. Only vocals and hand drums at end.
3. 3:27 militant bubble, cool horns. Riddim slows down after each minute; interesting lyrics and odd falsetto vocals, abrupt end.
4. 3:19 **classic ska with keyboards (think Desmond Dekker, if he were singing on crack). Interesting faded love lyrics.
5. 4:52 **solo keyboard intro, downbeat funk groove. Turns into light skank with heavy lyrics. Crazy!
6. 5:35 *interview about music for first 25 seconds, then mellow and warbly keyboards, beat starts in almost a minute into the piece. Midtempo reggae keyboard-based instrumental with jazz horns after 3 minutes. Nice piece, but I’d cue to after 25 secs.
7. 5:09 *rock steady with solid horns. Love song, which is a bit off-putting when it’s screamed… False ending, then slow ska bit with very impressive piano.
8. 3:41 ***upbeat ska with really cool horn lines, very jazzy guitar and keyboards. Instrumental, very nice indeed.
9. 2:45 **bubbly keyboards and hard tom drums. Jazzy reggae with upful lyrics (and screaming). Bit o’ dub. Crazy!
10. 4:02 **downtempo reggae bubble, interesting playing and lyrics. It’s got a drum solo! Some dubbiness – fun stuff.
11. 3:45 **spacey intro, low-key vocals, full-on skank after 30 seconds, then very relaxed vibe. Great trumpet solo.
12. 5:17 **talked intro – I say cue to 10 seconds, start right off with the ska. Harder version of track 2. Very cool!

Track Listing
1. Out Of My Life   7. Hold You
2. See You Again   8. No Dice
3. Shutdown   9. In Search Of
4. Interrupted   10. Accusations
5. Right Hand Man   11. Keep On Playin'
6. Riff Raff   12. See You Again (Rockwell Version)