Stares, The / Spine To Sea
Album: Spine To Sea   Collection:General
Artist:Stares, The   Added:Jan 2006
Label:Web of Mimicry  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-02-12 Pull Date: 2006-04-16
Week Ending: Mar 12 Mar 5 Feb 26 Feb 19
Airplays: 1 2 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 09, 2006: Rock in a Position
From The Sky
4. Feb 22, 2006: Foreplay and Sex Wax
Disconnected Again
2. Mar 02, 2006: Eran Mukamel (Farsi spirituals)
Killing Time
5. Feb 18, 2006: Biff Bang Pow
From The Sky
3. Mar 02, 2006: Rock in a Position
From The Sky
6. Feb 16, 2006: Rock in a Position
Disconnected Again

Album Review
Ben Wolfson
Reviewed 2006-02-10
Dreamy, melancholy/romantic pop with some nice arrangements courtesy Eyvind Kang. Male and female vox, generally slow-moving melodies and tempos. Many of the songs (eg 1, 5) have a torchy feel, though they are not torch songs. The album as a whole is pretty samey.
Best: 1, 4, 6,

1: Sultry female vocals, glacial but excellent brass arrangement (love the French horn).
2: Primarily male vocals, this is more straight-ahead in arrangement, plodding drums.
3: Male/female tradeoff on vocals. Stirring string arrangement and chiming guitars.
4: Minute-long spare instrumental lead-in. Noiry lyrics; female vox. This song is very slow. Rises to a relatively intense (but no faster) climax.
5: Mostly instrumental in the beginning, full arrangement. Female vox.
6: Male vox. Upbeat (relative to the rest), with a more active arrangement.
7: Duet.
8: This track has a bass clarinet, which is good, but is otherwise fairly ordinary.

Track Listing
1. Disconnected Again   5. 1 2 3
2. 8,000 Feeet   6. On Repeat
3. Killing Time   7. Fine Arts
4. From The Sky   8. Forget The Souvenirs