Various Artists / First Ten, The: A Free Selection Of Music From The Suilven Recordings Label
Album: First Ten, The: A Free Selection Of Music From The Suilven Recordings Label   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jan 2006
Label:Suilven Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-07-09 Pull Date: 2006-09-10 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Sep 3 Aug 27 Jul 30 Jul 23 Jul 16
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 11, 2011: lost and found
4. Jul 29, 2006: cafe paradiso
Channelkirk And The Surrounding Area
2. Feb 21, 2009: Lost and Found
5. Jul 18, 2006: Radio Of Imagination
In Midsummer
3. Aug 23, 2006: chapter 44.0: powered by propane
Channelkirk And The Surrounding Area
6. Jul 13, 2006: Baptism of Solitude
Channelkirk And The Surrounding Area

Album Review
Elias (Dr Furious)
Reviewed 2006-06-24
Excellent-excellent compilation of ambient soundscapes from Scottish label "Suilven". Beautiful, poetic and edgy. Daniel Patrick Quinn's vocals (eg. track # 1 and 8) stand-out for the Mark E. Smith-esque/Fall-ish quality and for their repetitive instrumental nature. Think along the lines of Brian Eno, Ioannis Xenakis, John Cale, Boards of Canada, Do Make Say Think. Music to meditate to, sleep to, find God to, stage your emotional revolution to or simply make love to. Absolutely amazing!!!
Play 1, 8, 9, 5, 3, 2. All great!
1. Brilliantly repetitive. Pulsating beats, driving guitar riffs (catchy), sustained synth chords and revolutionary-sounding Mark E. Smithesque vocals.
2. Fluid, peaceful. Think Xenakis.
3. Lurkingly sinister and sullen. Eletro noise effects and violin strings in minor scales.
4. Mysterious and cinematographic. Evokes the imagery of an exploration in darkness; into the unknown.
5. Aquatic soundscape. Synths remind Boards of Canada.
6. Sustained synth drone with sparse Wurlitzer-sounding piano phrases. Sinister.
7. Soft and quiet. Mesmerizing. Sulky.
8. Jesus Christ, this is good. Edgy and repetitive. Marquee Smith and The Fall (vocals).
9. A rain of penetrating jungly electro-glitchy effects.
10. Crooning synth balad with preachy vocals. Beautiful melody.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Daniel Patrick Quinn Channelkirk And The Surrounding Area
2. Dac Crowell/ Kurt Doles In Midsummer
3. Daniel Patrick Quinn Dunstanburgh Castle
4. Dac Crowell Untitled
5. Lvxus Watercourse
6. Daniel Patrick Quinn Jura
7. Dac Crowell/ Kurt Doles From A Window
8. Daniel Patrick Quinn Nine Standards
9. Dac Crowell Harmundum
10. Daniel Patrick Quinn Pilgrims Way