Gang Of Four / Return The Gift
Album: Return The Gift   Collection:General
Artist:Gang Of Four   Added:Feb 2006
Label:V2 Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-02-12 Pull Date: 2006-04-16 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Apr 16 Apr 9 Apr 2 Mar 26 Mar 19 Mar 12 Mar 5 Feb 26
Airplays: 5 3 3 1 2 6 8 6

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 08, 2023: Stop Making Sense
Damaged Goods
4. Sep 09, 2017: Homeroom
To Hell With Poverty
2. Sep 21, 2023: down in the basement
Damaged Goods
5. Mar 15, 2017: radio seven/deep storage N°50
What We All Want
3. Feb 03, 2022: Stop Making Sense
Damaged Goods
6. Feb 11, 2017: Homeroom

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-02-07
New in-studio recordings of some of their most noted gems from 1979-82 using the original four piece line-up. Songs are true to originals, no “re-workings”. Their voices are still spot on as is their playing. However this serves as a fine study in the differences between contemporary recording techniques/digital production and analog exuberance of the late 70’s. Guitar amps sound closer to digitally modeled marshals through the use of a Sans Amp and drums are slicker, taking on a near modeled drum machine quality in places. That said its undeniably Gang of Four and its impossible to fuck this stuff up. This is the ultimate dance rock.

1) soaring searing guitar
2) drumming is straight, drum machine like and this version suffers
3) very digital sounding guitar but its impossible for this catchy rhythm to not sound GREAT
4) passable version, I miss the melodica
5) funky, minimal in comparison
6) the monstrous feedback intro is a bit tamer but still retains the spirit of the original, the voiceover is much more pronounced
7) sparser in comparison, w/ voiceover
8) heavy undeniable funk beat, all cynlinders
9) justice to a monster of a song
10) nice slow hip grind, blatant anti-war song
11) another slower grind
12) urgent version of a great hard funk-rock antiwar song, no fem vocs this time
13) great version, disjunct
14) straight up hard lined dance rock if you want something w/ a straighter beat

Track Listing
1. To Hell With Poverty   8. What We All Want
2. Damaged Goods   9. Ether
3. Natural's Not In It   10. He'd Send The Army
4. Not Great Men   11. Capital
5. Why Theory?   12. I Love A Man In A Uniform
6. Anthrax   13. At Home He's A Tourist
7. Paralysed   14. We Live As We Dream, Alone