Various Artists / Esopus Number Five: Audio Visuals
Album: Esopus Number Five: Audio Visuals   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Feb 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-06-11 Pull Date: 2006-08-13
Week Ending: Aug 6 Jul 9 Jun 25 Jun 18
Airplays: 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 30, 2006: Multiple Personality Disorder
On Being Complicated
4. Jun 24, 2006: Epic Soundtracks
Dying Robot
2. Aug 02, 2006: Epic Soundtracks
Song For You
5. Jun 16, 2006: Mr. S's Wild Ride
3. Jul 06, 2006: Cognitive Overload
Dying Robot
6. Jun 13, 2006: Radio Of Imagination
Dying Robot

Album Review
Reviewed 2006-06-08
Highly eclectic art pop from Esopus magazine. Features The Mountain Goats, Kevin Blechdom (ex Blectum From Blechdom), Britta Phillips (Luna), and 9 others. From the one-sheet: “Esopus invited 12 musicians to pick a work of visual art they recalled as having been significant to them at some point in their lives and use it as inspiration for a song.” Play with other music from any of these artists. FCC clean. Start with 8, 10, 11, 12.

1. Cadence Weapon: Electronic hip-hop. Male vocals. Slightly creepy & psychedelic. Ends with percussionless figure.
2. Jim White: Dreamy folk. Male vocals. Guitar and slide banjo.
3. The Mountain Goats: High energy indie folk. Male vocals + acoustic guitar.
4. Alina Simone: Fraught female vocals plus minimal guitar and a sprinkling of electronics.
5. Josephine Foster: Slow (synthetic) chamber pop featuring synth harp. Fuzzy, very quiet operatic vocals (female).
6. Autoparty: Upbeat but dark dance synthpop. Male/female duet vocals.
7. Meg Murray: Bluesy, jazzy ballad. Female vocals plus synthetic percussion.
==> 8. Sankofa: Hip-hop, male vocals. Heavy beat and fluttery synth.
9. Jesus Licks: Surrealistic gospel folk, angelic female vocals.
==> 10. Kevin Blechdom: Intense, busy sound collage. Apocalyptic and silly.
==> 11. Grasshopper With The O.C.D. Bottle Factory: Smokey surf noir. Instrumental. Muted trumpet, synth, and surf guitar.
==> 12. Britta Phillips: Quirky pop. Female vocals. Bass guitar and synths.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Cadence Weapon God Bless My Brother
2. Jim White Plywood Superman
3. Mountain Goats, The Porcile
4. Alina Simone On Being Complicated
5. Josephine Foster Two-Harp Blues
6. Autoparty Juliette Vs. The Ink Blot
7. Meg Murray Ode To Bunnatine
8. Sankofa They All Die
9. Jesus Licks Terrible Beauty
10. Kebin Blechdom Dying Robot
11. Grasshopper With The O.C.D. Bottle Factory Back In No Time
12. Britta Phillips Song For You