Texas Governor, The / Experiment, The
Album: Experiment, The   Collection:General
Artist:Texas Governor, The   Added:Apr 2006
Label:The Archenemy Record Comp  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-07-16 Pull Date: 2006-09-17
Week Ending: Sep 3 Aug 27 Aug 20 Aug 13 Aug 6 Jul 30 Jul 23
Airplays: 2 2 2 1 4 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 30, 2008: Interminable Nonsense
Starting At The Movie Screen
4. Aug 29, 2006: The Top Shelf
Starting At The Movie Screen
2. Jun 26, 2008: The Joy 'n Danny Division
Shortwave Radio
5. Aug 26, 2006: What's in the Icebox?
Shortwave Radio
3. Jan 07, 2007: Hangtime
The Experiment
6. Aug 22, 2006: The Top Shelf
Leaving Train

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-07-18
Indie pop with low-fi trashy moments, fans of Beck, Pavement, Yo La Tengo, Neutral Milk Hotel take note. Some tracks are polished, others have fuzzy low-fi vocals and sloppy drums. Mixed bag, good stuff. Sometimes the vocs remind me of a Daniel Johnston sufficiently medicated.

1) upbeat indie pop with low fi simple drums, melodic
2) really pleasant pop, Beck/Pavement
3) stop go, trashier, girl vocs in there
4) upbeat pop that smacks heavily of Yo La Tengo
5) funky pop rhythm, “sweet” melodic vocals and feel
6) very quiet long intro to dreamy drumless pop
7) simple casio rhumba beat, dreamy feel
8) simple beat, low bass
9) chill simple pop, low bass, slowly phrased melodic “fragile” vocs
10) Best song: cool pop with killer drum motif/theme/break that makes the whole song, along with the killer twang guitar and catchy as fuck melody
11) ¾ waltz beat, slower more simple sing/songwtr
12) driving w/ fuzzy guitars, tad more of an edge

Track Listing
1. Shortwave Radio   6. The Amazing Sleeping Alarm Clock
2. Life Is Like A Big Revolving Door   7. Think About...
3. 1234   8. Leave Your Life Behind You
4. Starting At The Movie Screen   9. Leaving Train
5. Sometimes I Feel Like...   10. The Sun's Going Down
  11. The Experiment