Pope, Odean Saxophone Choir / Locked And Loaded
Album: Locked And Loaded   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Pope, Odean Saxophone Choir   Added:Apr 2006
Label:Half Note  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-04-16 Pull Date: 2006-06-18 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jun 11 May 28 May 21 May 14 May 7 Apr 23
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 25, 2024: Music Casserole
4. Jan 26, 2007: No Cover, No Minimum
Prince Lasha
2. Dec 10, 2008: In a Silent Way
Prince Lasha
5. Jun 09, 2006: Memory Select
Coltrane Time
3. Jan 04, 2008: No Cover, No Minimum: Extended Wanderings
Coltrane Time
6. Jun 05, 2006: No Cover, No Minimum
Prince Lasha

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-04-14
Nine-sax band backed by piano/bass/drums, with special guests on solos (Michael Brecker, Joe Lovano, etc.) Mostly a mainstream sound with fast "expert-level" solos, particularly 1 and 5, where Pope himself takes the lead, but you can also hear the free-jazz voices inside Brecker and Lovano. Fun stuff, very accessible. Applause ends each track.

The featured soloist is listed in () for each track.

1- Lush, swaying, pretty. Midtempo. Great sax solo. (Pope)
2- Really fast. Tense, exciting. (Brecker)
3- Lushly romantic but fast; slows down later for the solo (Lovano)
4- Ballroom slow dance, albeit at a fairly fast pace. (Julian Pressley)
5- Crazy stacatto. Gruff, avant double-solo (Pope/Brecker)
6- Swaying theme, into dark disjoint open solo (Lovano)
7- Mid/fast, a big-city bustle for a long, towering solo by James Carter. Built on simple, catchy riffs; kind of a throwaway tune but Carter forges all kinds of sparks from it (Carter)

Track Listing
1. Epitome   4. Central Park West
2. Prince Lasha   5. Coltrane Time
3. Cis   6. Terrestrial
  7. Muntu Chant