Yakuza / Samsara
Album: Samsara   Collection:General
Artist:Yakuza   Added:May 2006
Label:Prosthetic Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-08-13 Pull Date: 2006-10-15 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Sep 10 Sep 3 Aug 27 Aug 20
Airplays: 1 1 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 13, 2010: public noize racket
Back To The Mountain
4. Aug 31, 2006: Cognitive Overload
2. Oct 15, 2006: Multiple Personality Disorder
Monkey Tail
5. Aug 26, 2006: Bloodstains Across Atherton
3. Sep 07, 2006: Baptism of Solitude
Back To The Mountain
6. Aug 24, 2006: Baptism of Solitude
Back To The Mountain

Album Review
Reviewed 2006-08-15
Yakuza – Samsara (Prosthetic)
Parts progressive hardcore, parts metalcore, parts hard rock, parts metal. Vocals you can mostly understand, lots of noise parts, a saxophone, keyboards, noise and bursts of heaviness. The vocals and hard rock moments fall absolutely flat sometimes. They mix a lot of ideas in each track and do end up creating a very unique sound. Progressive hardcore?
**1. Slight tribal feel with lots of percussion and a saxophone which changes into a heavy rock type sound. Call and response type vocals with screams you can almost understand and growls. The track is heavy with touches of metal.
2. Slower hard rock with shitty vocals.
3. Mellow sax, slowly add in bass and drums and slowly get heavier.
5. Heavy and fast. Sorta math metal. The 2nd half of the track is completely different, there is a mellow breakdown with some keyboards and the last 20 or so seconds of the track goes back to the heaviness.
6. Noisy intro with saxophone. The singer tries to sing. Semi-trippy sound which kicks into bursts of hard rock.
7. Mellow electronics, sax and guitar. Vocals are spoken and sung. Never gets heavy. Not much worth listening to.
8. Maybe the most metal track which leans metalcore. Somewhat of a simple guitar riff.
9. The vocals are enough to kill it.
**10. 9 minute track that mixes everything they have. Begins with some guitar volume tricks, when the track gets going it’s slow and heavy with some sax. Reminds me a bit of THE MASS.
OK Stuff. -mph

Track Listing
1. Cancer Of Industry   6. 20 Bucks
2. Plecostomus   7. Exterminator
3. Monkey Tail   8. Just Say Know
4. Transmission Ends...Signal Lost   9. Glory Hole
5. Dishonor   10. Back To The Mountain