Idiom Creak / Jet Powered Monkey Navigated
Album: Jet Powered Monkey Navigated   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Idiom Creak   Added:Jul 2006
Label:Samplistic Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-08-20 Pull Date: 2006-10-22 Charts: Hip-Hop
Week Ending: Oct 22 Oct 15 Oct 8 Sep 17 Sep 10 Sep 3 Aug 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 2 5

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 02, 2008: Brownian Motion
4. Oct 26, 2006: Trip Over Zero
Paved Vocano Blasts, Zanuba
2. Mar 08, 2007: Fiction Romance
5. Oct 19, 2006: Trip Over Zero
Paved Vocano Blasts
3. Feb 22, 2007: Trip Over Zero
6. Oct 12, 2006: Trip Over Zero
Paved Vocano Blasts, Zanuba

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-07-19
“Headphone hip-hop”, “abstract instrumental hip-hop”, narcotic beautiful downtempo shoegazing funky rhythmic sample eletro, vocals replaced by samples, found sounds, field recordings. Like his previous release, he hits some kick ass rhythms, sexy ass-swinging hip-grinding stuff. But here he expands his horizons incorporating eastern samples, melodies, percussion, making things interesting, creepy and even almost shoegazer rock at times. Lots of narcotic and truly lush downtempo, chillness. From the school of Def Jux, AntiCon, Quake Trap. Great stuff.

1) starts quiet with spoken word samples, then solid shuffling funky beat
2) more of an old school funk beat with middle eastern pop flare, quirky synth melodies eastern all the way, field recording type samples at end
3) downtempo, “I’m nobody, who are you?” creepy samples over “sensitive” pop ballady music, tabla samples
4) Big Bird reciting the alphabet, chill minor toned,
ends with 1+ minute sample of what sounds like the Exploratorium, somber cello
5) downtempo with strings, pretty, almost shoegazer rock
6) sitar in with percussion heavy downtempo beats which pick up at end
7) ambient experimental, samples, rhythm doesn’t appear for 3 minutes and then its more of just a pulse, looped subtle melodies
8) tribal drums, yet chill and funky, beautiful, with a major kick ass shift midway getting heavier on the funk, quiet field recording at end
9) lilting melodies, chill flavor but doubletime beats, another hidden mic sample for last 1+ min
10) very quiet intro, spoken poem, trippy surreal and beautiful downtempo, excuse me while I nod off in a warm wave of euphoric bliss , very quiet outro too
11) very chill, weird treated voice, diatribe, trippy as hell

Track Listing
1. Jet-Powered Monkey-Navigated   6. Paved Vocano Blasts
2. Zanuba   7. 3gaining Consciousness
3. Odysseus   8. Liquid Oval
4. Alphabet Song   9. Whipped In No Sense (A Flea From Reality)
5. Door 61   10. He Never Lives
  11. What Is Mind?