Chas. Mtn. / Hugs
Album: Hugs   Collection:General
Artist:Chas. Mtn.   Added:Aug 2006
Label:Western Vinyl  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-10-29 Pull Date: 2006-12-31
Week Ending: Dec 10 Nov 19 Nov 12 Nov 5
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 03, 2007: Into the Nada
Leveled Mez
4. Nov 09, 2006: press and release
Agog Hallway
2. Dec 05, 2006: lick My Moody Guitar
Jardin Cadaver
5. Nov 02, 2006: Cognitive Overload
Leveled Mez
3. Nov 15, 2006: The Witching Hour #5
Deep Safety

Album Review
Reviewed 2006-09-17
Boston based duo offers up a collection of provoking, low-fi avant-freaky-folk and noise tracks. The duo seem to share vocal duties, with quite a bit of range between them, and effectively pulls off the sequencing too as this collage-like album jumps from monstrous noise overkill to lovelorn ballads with equal parts melodic finger-picked guitar and electronic twiddling. Second half of the album sounds more psychedelic, but really the album eludes a mood. Beautifully warped! FCC: #8.

1. Brief intro music – 21 secs
2. Fastly strummed guitars, raga quality, raw vocals almost Xiu Xiu (at his most straightforward) like.
3. Vocables over buzzing. Are those kazoos?
*4. Harmonized, semi-audible singing over various industrial noises and static.
5. Noise track, construction site sounds.
*6. Pretty, breezy acoustic guitars with soft, electronic textures.
*7. Most straightforward offering but still sounds like a novel rendition of a baroque ballad.
8. Rowdy, noisy, instrumentation, spoken-word, oratorical quality. FCC: Fucked up [0:01]
9. Lightning Bolt emulations, lacks ferociousness and thus effectiveness
10. Airy, nature sounds with bits of barely audible vox that come in sounding like out of tune trumpet.
*11. Psyched out quality; overlapping deemphasized vocals have a sort of Ariel Pink quality.
12. Muffled, deep vocals
13. Surprisingly, heavily affected accents are not annoying here.
14. Brief, instrumental track alludes to sounds rising from an abyss
15. Pretty sustained harmonies, builds momentum slowly
16. Long track, 14 minutes of sustained creepiness, organ and drums.

Track Listing
1. We're Evil, We're Jazz   9. Headstripe Bitches
2. Deep Safety   10. Jardin Cadaver
3. Leveled Mez   11. Upsidedown Hanging
4. Wheels Of Space   12. Straights Riff
5. Nice Mug   13. Fly Over The City
6. Mothure   14. Sodaz
7. Cinematic, Unbearable   15. Somewhat Still And Small
8. Salad Of Flies   16. Agog Hallway