Ilad / Spoon, The
Album: Spoon, The   Collection:General
Artist:Ilad   Added:Aug 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-11-12 Pull Date: 2007-01-14
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 26 Nov 19
Airplays: 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 10, 2007: Finneman's Market
4. Nov 21, 2006: lick My Moody Guitar
Wheres This Place Called Home
2. Apr 26, 2007: Finneman's Market
5. Nov 18, 2006: Biff Bang Pow
3. Nov 30, 2006: Finneman's Market
6. Nov 15, 2006: I once was a 'hamster
Before You Sell Your Soul

Album Review
Rob Majors
Reviewed 2006-11-13
Rhodes-fronted jazz/rock jams, with emphasis on the jazz and liberal doses of electronic sounds throughout. Jeremy Enigk-like vox are present, but are generally very low in the mix. Relaxing, atmospheric, chill, and compositionally advanced. Might be likened to a very jazzy Album Leaf or Ester Drang. Very unique stuff.
FCC Clean. Picks in order: 2, 4, 8, 6

1. 7:38 - Low energy slacker rock. Atmospheric and key driven. Picks up to a blippy shuffle at 3:30.
***2. 7:24 - Low energy intro into mid energy loose rock, then free-jazz type jam and crazy, over-the-top drumming. Great blend of jazz and rock. Cold stop with 0:06 silence at end.
3. 3:15 - Very low energy. Plodding keys and perc, with some weird 12/8 perc fills around 2:00. 15-sec silence at end.
**4. 2:45 - Great 7/8 opener with hovering blips into relaxed bent-key vamp over a nonstandard chord progression. Switches abruptly between 7/8 and swung 6 throughout. 14-sec silence at end.
5. 5:24 - Low energy. Hushed and saccharine synth pop. No changes until 3:50, when a smoothly fuzzed guitar and music-box chimes enter for a brief, quirky break.
*6. 7:29 - Jazz keys and perc intro into atmospheric jazz. Mood changes at 2:20 to a cut-time feel with whirring synths. 0:25 silence at end.
7. 5:36 - Downtempo latiny groove taps under a series of meandering atmospheric riffs. Low energy guitar solo around 4:00. Ends with 0:40 drums and 0:7 silence.
**8. 9:52 - Very slow opener with metallic clanks.Gradual build to low energy spoken lyrics starting at 2:24. Switches to a more songlike mood as guitar enters at 3:54. Drums build to jazzy improv and the rest of the instruments follow suit as the vox rise in intensity. 0:10 silence at end.

Track Listing
1. Kentucky   5. Say You Will
2. Wheres This Place Called Home   6. Still
3. Raindown   7. Taiste The Time
4. Before You Sell Your Soul   8. Onesies Twosies