Various Artists / Hail To The Thieves #3
Album: Hail To The Thieves #3   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Sep 2006
Label:Running Scared Productions  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-14 Pull Date: 2007-03-18
Week Ending: Mar 4 Feb 25 Feb 11 Feb 4 Jan 28 Jan 21
Airplays: 1 1 3 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 15, 2022: Traditions
Royally Oily
4. Feb 08, 2007: Trip Over Zero
Pero A Mi No Me Crean
2. Feb 28, 2007: Old New Borrowed & Blues
What Does That W Stand For
5. Feb 07, 2007: Old New Borrowed & Blues
Bush War Blues
3. Feb 21, 2007: Old New Borrowed & Blues
Bush War Blues
6. Feb 06, 2007: Global Warming at the Cafe Bohemian
Bush War Blues

Album Review
Don Farrell
Reviewed 2007-01-16
From the press release: Folk & Labor Musicians Unite for Third Anti-Bush CD. This new CD lays out the case against George Bush and his administration in 20 songs, poems and stories in the best of the traveling, storytelling folk tradition. No FCCs detected. All songs are GREAT.
1: 0:20 spoken word intro. by Utah Phillips about the wheels of the machine.
2: 2:26 fast fast fem vocal Bluegrass "Royally Oily"
3: 3:56 male singer/songwriter ,slow "Liar Liar, Pants On Fire"
4: 2:15 male vocal classic folk tune about Cheney's hunting trip "Deadeye Dick"
5: 0:57 choral harmonizing " Amazing Grace"
6: 3:14 male vocal ballad, Phil Ochs style fast guitar picking about Katrina
7: 2: 02 mid to fast, fem singer about same sex marriage
8: 2: 46 jug band sound, folk/country male vocal "If You're So Hot For War" why don't you enlist.
9: 3: 45 slow sad lyrics, male vocal "There's no way out"
10: 4:06 fem vocal. slow, " I stand with Cindy Sheehan" with piano
11: 3:34 fem chorus "None of Us are Free" beautiful voice from lead singer.piano . . + hand clapping
****12: 2:42 mid tempo male vocal & e-guitar "Bush War Blues" by Billy Bragg
13: 4: 42 fem vocal , beautiful voice, great song, mid to faster.
14: 2:41 slow to mid male vocal with guitar & piano
15: 3:50 Tex/Mex sound male vocal in Spanish check out the translation in the notes. "Latinos are the first to die in Iraq
16: 2:03 male vocal/wail "What does that W stand for?"
17: 3:20 mid to faster male vocal " If there's a God in Heaven George I think you're going to Hell"
****18: 1:58 male spoken word "oil profits, endless war, will our troops ever come back"
***19: 5:14 Beautiful vibrato voice, great lyrics,guitar, part sing-a-long
20: 6:27 Utah Phillips spoken word/song " we're gonna get through it" D Farrell 01/2007

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Utah Phillips You Cannot Even Tacitly Participate
2. Colleen Kattau Royally Oily
3. Chuck Brodsky Liar Liar Pants On Fire
4. Steve Brooks Deadeye Dick
5. Graham & Barbara Dean W/ Kim & Reggie Harris Amazing Grace
6. Evan Greer The Ballad Of Hurricane Katrina
7. Anne Feeney Defenders Of Marriage
8. Julius Margolin If You're So Hot For War
9. George Mann There's No Way Out
10. Pat Wynne I Stand With Cindy Sheehan
11. D.C. Labor Chorus, The None Of Us Are Free
12. Billy Bragg Bush War Blues
13. Girlyman Commander
14. Jon Fromer Welcome
15. Francisco Herrera Pero A Mi No Me Crean
16. John Lilly What Does That W Stand For
17. George Mann If There's A God In Heaven
18. Julius Rickman Endless War
19. Jolie Rickman Beholden (Peace Loving Nation)
20. Utah Phillips Ship Gonna Sail