Long Distance Runner / Fire Of Cumulative Hours, The
Album: Fire Of Cumulative Hours, The   Collection:General
Artist:Long Distance Runner   Added:Nov 2006
Label:Existential Sounds  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-14 Pull Date: 2007-03-18 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Feb 11 Feb 4 Jan 28 Jan 21
Airplays: 2 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 16, 2007: At Your Local Dive
Los Nihongoristas
4. Feb 01, 2007: Trip Over Zero
Blues In The Key Of Red
2. Feb 07, 2007: Plastic Fantastic Lover
The Fire Of Cumulative Hours
5. Jan 27, 2007: cafe paradiso
Mongolian Disco In Exile
3. Feb 06, 2007: Lost and Found
Mongolian Disco In Exile
6. Jan 27, 2007: Radio Experiment #4
Los Nihongoristas

Album Review
Natalie Ruiz Tofano
Reviewed 2007-01-09
Playful & upbeat electronica, each song has distinct & unique mixture of sounds, almost all instrumental. Debut release from drummer/producer Kyle Briggs, based in Portland (self-released). Described as electro-acoustic experimentalism.
No FCCs Favs: all!

1 – mid/high-tempo electronica, dreamy & bright. Fade-in build up; soft repetitive fem vox; intricate mixture of multiple heavy & light beats, w/layers of swirling acoustic sounds

2 – mid-tempo jazz w/various talking vocal samples. Awesome mix of fast drum beats w/layers of jazzy bass & strings (among a few other sampled instruments)

3 – mid-tempo electro guitar mixed w/heavy bass & soft, swirling electro-acoustic sounds. Layers & layers of drum beats & electro guitar, woa!

4 – the groovy tune. mid-tempo, bright & a little “worldly” sounding w/sampled sounds and fem singing. More mixtures of electro-acoustic sounds

5 – the “darker” tune; heavy, driving electro bass w/strings, electro guitar layers, & fuzzy scratching samples; again w/layers of drum beats

Track Listing
1. Los Nihongoristas   3. After The Math
2. The Fire Of Cumulative Hours   4. Mongolian Disco In Exile
  5. Blues In The Key Of Red