Harrington, William C / Uem Live
Album: Uem Live   Collection:General
Artist:Harrington, William C   Added:Jan 2007
Label:Nova Express  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-02-11 Pull Date: 2007-04-15 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Apr 8 Mar 18 Feb 18
Airplays: 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 25, 2007: Multiple Personality Disorder
Syd, Jill's Intro
4. Feb 17, 2007: Cognitive Overload
Joan Wore A Girdle
2. Apr 06, 2007: The Adventurer's Choice
5. Feb 13, 2007: Brownian Motion
The Organ Song
3. Mar 11, 2007: Multiple Personality Disorder
The Organ Song

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-02-07
Kick ass experimental analog loops and drones and collage, compiled from 30 years of tapes, found sounds and sources, and traditional instruments. For fans of Eno, NON, Reich, Cage, electronic music (by its traditional definition), even tribal King Crimson. This guy must be in his 50’s or more, having been involved in music for a long time, serving as Zappa’s keyboard tech amongst other high profile gigs, studying composition and electronic music with notable way back. Hard to believe the liner notes when it says this is his first CD. Recorded live, this is really one long track split into many tracks with distinct flavors and themes. Well done. My picks: 2, 7, 8. FCC clean.

1) chorus of feedback, tasteful and somehow melodic
2) a nice drone, a crunchy tape loop, and echo’ed trumpet cant go wrong
3) clarinet and other horns become more apparent, tape loops and noise grow bold
4) flute and racket, still looping hypnotically
5) mechanical somehow, robotic voice buried at times
6) briefer, like a computer on a space station
7) a lovely drone starts this and evolves nicely, staying chill and narcotic until end where moog tones appear
8) an eastern tabla flavor to this, cool
9) a little more electronic but incorporates some treated guitar
10) developing a definite rhythm, tribal but not trite, still on a foundation of excellent drony noise
11) beat continues, less rhythmic, cool looping guitar Frippish guitar work
12) brief, dominated by feedback and a square wave
13) guitar feedback symphony again, like in intro reminds me of tones The Residents used a lot in their early days (“on any other street”), midway loops like crashing and falling appear, at end theres some backward voice sample
14) classic Tomita’esque analog synth sequence, trippy and composed, pretty actually

Track Listing
1. Jill's Intro   8. Ra-Jilli
2. Syd   9. Arps!
3. Remnants   10. Interludes
4. I Take It Youre A 'mo   11. Suzi Locked Herself Out
5. Rockitt   12. Joan Wore A Girdle
6. Chico & Robusto   13. The Opposite Of Otis
7. The Organ Song   14. Inconclusion