Killmetrio, The / Killmetrio, The
Album: Killmetrio, The   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Killmetrio, The   Added:Jan 2007

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-21 Pull Date: 2007-03-25 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Mar 25 Mar 18 Feb 4
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 23, 2007: Memory Select
3. Feb 02, 2007: Memory Select
2. Mar 16, 2007: Memory Select

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-01-18
Free jazz from a sax-led trio, lots of smart-alecky skronkiness and some good dynamic interplay too. Some tracks feature an abrasive, screaming sax sound, along the lines of Peter Brotzmann or a less disciplined Naked City; 7 through 9, in particular, are short bursts of this stuff.

Note that the band is "The Kill Me Trio," typed as all one word... I've taken the liberty of putting "The" at the beginning. Trio is led by Shayna Dulberger, the bassist .... also Darius Jones on sax and Jason Nazary on drums.

1- Upbeat, fairly fast and free
2- Calm improv-whirlpool intro, into some fast work with buzzy sax. Ends w/pleasant rhythm and unpleasant sax.
3- Odd bird-call sax and choppy, aggressive rhythm. Gets vicious; later develops a groove but stays skronky. Worth it, although the intro might annoy.
4- Slow, w/kissing sounds (ew) from sax. Then buzzy, ominous.
5- Screaming, drawn-out sax that gets wild and fast. Long, quiet bass intro; strange military-march ending.
6- Bop in 5/4, a cool vibe, fairly fast. Relatively straight, w/wild solos of course
7- Scribbly 32-second piece
8- Blare/screech, punky and horrorific, but only 50 seconds long
9- Loud blare that dies down slowly. 90 seconds long.
10- Slow, peaceful closer that gets drunkenly screechy. Funny.

Track Listing
1. Improvisation   6. Lowed
2. Improvisation 2. When I Think About You I Hate Myself   7. Zeek
3. Killher   8. Duct Tape
4. Post Explosion   9. Appendix
5. Myopia   10. I Wish I Was...