What We Live / Sound Catcher
Album: Sound Catcher   Collection:Jazz
Artist:What We Live   Added:Jan 2007
Label:Fire Museum Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-28 Pull Date: 2007-04-01 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Mar 25 Feb 25 Feb 11 Feb 4
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 23, 2007: Memory Select
Raise Up An Ocean
3. Feb 09, 2007: Memory Select (Baseball Rainout)
Arvak (The Spirit)
2. Feb 23, 2007: Memory Select
Native Girl With Big Ears
4. Feb 02, 2007: Memory Select
Native Girl With Big Ears

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-01-24
Improvised jazz instrumentals with a bit of a spiritual feel. From a longtime local trio (sax/drums/bass) with wordless vocals from Turkish singer Saadet Turkoz. Overall serene and thoughtful, a calm demeanor even when the pace or volume picks up. With electronics touches here and there. As it's improvised, the music won't settle into riffs or even rhythms for long, but they do a good job sustaining a mood for long stretches. Like a shifting river, pleasantly unpredictable. FCC clean.

* Check out 5 for a "world" kind of touch, sort of.
* Good late-night sounds -- 4,6

What We Live: Lisle Ellis (bass), Donald Robinson (drums), Larry Ochs, of ROVA (sax)

1- Floaty but w/time-bomb hi-hat for tension... gnarly bass solo leads into a louder, almost brash second half. Loudest/fastest journey on the album.
2- Ceremonial feel: twining soprano sax, gentle drums. Rather quiet.
3- Sad vocal, sproingy, mysterious electronics sounds
4- Loose sax/bowed bass dialogue, casual and spirited. Drums, vocals get added in later; second half feels exotic and slow
5- Vocals and toms, a spare but propulsive feel. Then a relaxed mid/fast melody with bass.
6- Slinky, smoky-jazz feel. Later, a slower, mystical stretch. Should make for good late-night meditation, but you wouldn't call it ambient, and it's not all quiet.

Track Listing
1. Raise Up An Ocean   4. Arvak (The Spirit)
2. One   5. Native Girl With Big Ears
3. The Kiss Off   6. Sound-Chaser