Do Make Say Think / You You're A History In Rust
Album: You You're A History In Rust   Collection:General
Artist:Do Make Say Think   Added:Feb 2007
Label:Constellation Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-03-11 Pull Date: 2007-05-13
Week Ending: May 13 May 6 Apr 29 Apr 15 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 18
Airplays: 2 1 1 3 3 4 4 5

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 03, 2010: Do Make Say Think Interview
In Mind
4. Jun 09, 2009: An Analgesic Haze
Bound To Be That Way
2. Nov 06, 2009: No Fo, $5 Surcharge Fee
A With Living
5. Apr 21, 2009: I once was Canadian
In Mind
3. Jul 07, 2009: Hipster Garbage (sub)
Herstory Of Glory
6. Mar 06, 2009: The B-Side presents: A Celebration of March 6th
You, You're Awesome

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-03-02
Intelligent complex compositions, overall instrumental feel even when there are lyrics/vocals. These Canadians create uber-cerebral music with not a trace of pompous trappings that proggy, “post-rock” types usually reek of. Songs are epic, meander and surprise. Hard to describe as they have re-defined something here and definitely take the art of sound mixing to another level. Songs are somewhat long, demand attention, incorporate a plethora of instruments but mostly guitar/bass/drums centered. For fans of the neo-classical approach to rock, Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, Mogwai remixes, Kevin Shields/My Bloody Valentine dissonance, even Calexico/Giant Sand nods here and there.

1) brief jazzy drums intro, then slow strummed/phrased second intro, after ~2.5 min a mathy/jazzy beat kicks in and complex guitar and full band let loose, ends after ~4.5 minutes, then a reprise of sorts starts up with woodwinds, confusing and taunting like only DMST can pull
2) brushed drum upbeat almost pop-like with lyrics/vocs
3) this borders on rockin’, urgent beat and feel, definitely louder than most with walls of guitars, lovely out-tro
4) chill experimental ambience gives way to folk-like guitar, Fahey’esque
5) gallopy rhythm, mathy time signature, incorporates nice found sounds/field recordings
6) somewhat rootsy feel in guitars, Calexico twang with some slide and plodding siesta feel
7) upbeat, musical, probably most appealing of the bunch, but has plenty of surprises toward the end (as I’ve learned to expect from this band)
8) simple song feel, guitar and pretty instrumentation, very poplike, cool how it shifts toward end, loudness, vocs even

Track Listing
1. Bound To Be That Way   5. Herstory Of Glory
2. A With Living   6. You, You're Awesome
3. The Universe!   7. Executioner Blues
4. A Tender History In Rust   8. In Mind