Atkinson, Wendy / Pink Noise
Album: Pink Noise   Collection:General
Artist:Atkinson, Wendy   Added:Feb 2007
Label:Smarten Up! & Get to the  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-03-11 Pull Date: 2007-05-13 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: May 13 May 6 Mar 25 Mar 18
Airplays: 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 25, 2007: Multiple Personality Disorder
The Chamber
4. May 02, 2007: Where the Girls Are
The Chamber
2. Sep 20, 2007: Day Of Difficulty
"I Love This Town"
5. Mar 21, 2007: Brownian Motion
The Chamber
3. May 10, 2007: Cognitive Overload
Getting Caught
6. Mar 16, 2007: Carrots & Sticks... But Mostly Sticks
Elbow Room

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-03-02
Canadian woman plays bass, uses a 4-track reel and limits efx to echo/reverb, throws in found sounds, field recordings. The overall feel is hypnotic minimalism or like being inside the left side of a piano with the sustain pedal depressed. Moments of experimentalism, other moments of bass melodic simplicity a la Young Marble Giants. For fans of Lee Ranaldo’s contribution to Sonic Youth, trippy stuff with a cassette four-track quality. All tracks brief, to the point, radio-friendly. Perfect for segues.

FCCs: 6 My Picks: 4, 7, 9, 14

1) very echo’ey, sparse tones, percussive, bass, bows, everthing on about a 30 second decay
2) melodic if chill, bass duet
3) “field recording” of street sounds with very sparse bass notes here and there
4) upright bass bowing, big and hollow and dreamy
5) simple bass melody
6) FCCs, spoken word with minimal music, a really really great childhood story (safe harbor)
7) nice drones, tones, sine wave’ish, bow exchanges
8) tad noisier, bows and scrapes, some overdriven
9) more experimental, lower fi, noisier
10) looping bass melodies with tone melody, hypnotic, tape loopy
11) bell-like notes with simple clangy percussion
12) tape looped, layered, low fi distorted notes
13) spooky slow
14) low and melodic, with cool “percussion” loop, Young Marble Giants comes to mind of course
15) simple, almost childlike melody, bow exchanges, pretty

Track Listing
1. The Dockyard   8. Tempest
2. Tangent Night   9. Getting Caught
3. "I Love This Town"   10. Cypress Bowl
4. The Chamber   11. Onion
5. The Tyranny Of Housework   12. Age Of Anxiety
6. Summer Bbq   13. Life In Canada
7. Elbow Room   14. Tarry