Galas, David / Cataclysm, The
Album: Cataclysm, The   Collection:General
Artist:Galas, David   Added:Feb 2007
Label:Vendlus Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-08-26 Pull Date: 2007-10-28
Week Ending: Oct 28 Sep 9 Sep 2
Airplays: 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 04, 2016: a strange pursuit
Alone We Will Always Be
4. Sep 04, 2007: On The Warpath (sub for Decca)
Sect. Ii
2. Oct 23, 2007: A2Z
American Melancholy
5. Aug 29, 2007: (Jerry?) Brown Stains Across Atherton
3. Sep 05, 2007: Brownian Motion
American Melancholy

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-08-21
Dark solemn rock, gothy edge. Much of this could very easily pass for early 90’s Swans, Sisters of Mercy. Elements of 4AD bands, Dead Can Dance, Red Lorry Yellow Lorry. Former member of AZ band Lycia. Beautiful stuff, carrying the torch that those bands lit so well, if a tad too formulaic. I just realized that with all the retro fascination why isn’t anyone re-birthing the fantasmagoria of 4AD at their prime….until now. Great stuff. Dig up some Bauhaus too and knock yourself out.

1) 1 minute dark ambience
2) very early 90’s Swans’ish, driving/tribal pensive minor chords with near chantlike vocs
3) slow death brood, Red Lorry YL vocals, soaring searing guitars
4) starts with ¾ acoustic guitar, adds on electrics and broods on, midway the song virtually ends so beware as it picks up again but then goes half time for a bit, epic
5) another plodding triplet, dark with a touch of cookie monster vocs growling even
6) dark ambience, chill
7) so very Swans’y, epic slow triplet head nod
8) different vocals distinguish this one
9) off-time a bit, bright juxtaposed with dark, nice, ends with field recording sounds (~45 seconds)
10) instrumental, guitar driven
11) starts with ambient sounds, crickets and what sounds like a Neuremburg rally, some backwards masking, shifts, this one is more complex and interesting
12) somber
13) picks up driving with drums
14) brief, almost like a found recording
15) another turn, more acoustic feeling, exotic
16) another soaring epic Swans’esque triplet, fades into next track so watch cold stop
17) dreamy atmospheric instrumental
18) more of the same epic rock
19) very dark ambience with piano, squealing metallic tones, ends with a good minute of white noise

Track Listing
1. Asleep In The Field   10. Far Away From Nothing
2. The Harvest   11. Sect. Ii
3. American Melancholy   12. The Cataclysm P1
4. Alone We Will Always Be   13. The Cataclysm P2
5. The End Is Always Closer   14. The Burial
6. Sect. I   15. Shimla
7. Capsized   16. Reclamation
8. September   17. Sect Iii
9. Fragment   18. The Great Ruins Of Man
  19. Something Fell From The Sky