Perkins, Elvis / Ash Wednesday
Album: Ash Wednesday   Collection:General
Artist:Perkins, Elvis   Added:Mar 2007
Label:Xl Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-03-11 Pull Date: 2007-05-13
Week Ending: May 13 Apr 29 Apr 22 Apr 15 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 18
Airplays: 2 1 1 2 2 2 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 09, 2018: Road Trip
While You Were Sleeping
4. Nov 04, 2016: The Road Trip
All The Night Without Love, While You Were Sleeping
2. Jan 20, 2017: Road Trip
While You Were Sleeping
5. Oct 28, 2016: Road Trip
While You Were Sleeping
3. Dec 02, 2016: Road Trip
While You Were Sleeping
6. Oct 21, 2016: The Road Trip
While You Were Sleeping

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-03-10
folsky acoustic indie singer songwriter stuff. Elvis has a bit of a unique voice. instrumentation is bassed around acoustic guitar, upright bass, and drums; other instruments are thrown in on various songs. indie release of a previously self-released and critically lauded 2006 album. Really solid and enjoyable album with great songwriting and instrumentation. Yes, that’s his real name.
-Adrian FCC: clean (I think)
my picks: 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11
1. swirling acoustic epic ballad. interesting instrumentation: starts just guitar and vocals, then adds drums, upright bass and all sort of other instruments.
2. med-fast upbeat tune with guitar, upright bass and light drums.
3. med-slow. group singing and electric guitar. quirky take on a swinging rock tune.
4. med-slow, mopey. some strings providing backgrounds and Beatles-like backing vocals.
5. medium tempo. nice guitar and vocal parts that intertwine.
6. med-slow. guitar, accordion, bass, drums. french vocals midway through
7. another acoustic epic ballad. guitar, bass, drums backed with strings later in the song. nice falsetto during the chorus.
8. slow with piano, guitar, bass, drums.
9. slow, mostly finger-picked acoustic guitar. nice f harmony vocals.
10. nice medium tempo song. guitar-based, but with strings, vibraphone, trumpet and musical saw.
11. starts soft. piano-based song with harmonium. serene

Track Listing
1. While You Were Sleeping   6. Emile's Vietnam In The Sky
2. All The Night Without Love   7. Ash Wednesday
3. May Day!   8. The Night & The Liquor
4. Moon Woman Ii   9. It's A Sad World After All
5. It's Only Me   10. Sleep Sandwhich
  11. Good Friday