Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Aborted / Slaughtered & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture
Album:Slaughtered & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture Collection:General
Artist:Aborted Added:03/2007
Label:Century Media 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2007-04-08 Pull Date:2007-06-10 Charts:Loud
Week Ending:10 Jun27 May22 Apr15 Apr

Recent Airplay
1.Tue, 05 Jun 07:metal dude
too heavy for titanium
4.Sat, 26 May 07:Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Bloodstains Across Atherton
2.Sun, 03 Jun 07:Milkie
public noize racket
5.Sat, 21 Apr 07:metal dude
to heavy for titanium
3.Sat, 26 May 07:metal dude
too heavy for titanium
6.Sat, 21 Apr 07:Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Bloodstains Across Atherton

Album Review
Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Reviewed 2007-04-07 
Fast, aggressive death/thrash metal from Belgium. There’s two vocal tracks apparently done by one guy Sven De Caluwé who ranges from guttural awfulness to a nice Devin Townsend-like “aggressive melodic” tone. Think Carcass crossed with Strapping Young Lad or Dark Tranquility. Speaking of Carcass – Jeff Walker does guest vocals on this album. Not bad but not brilliant.

(((1))) Typical intro into blasting often brutal death metal. Gets better when the 2nd vocal comes in.
((((2)))) Fast & volatile death/thrash the two seemingly disparate vocal styles mesh pretty well here.
(((3))) (FCC “Fucking” sung once) Decent but often pedestrian “melo-death”.
((((4)))) Solid mix of melodic death and the more brutal side. Fantastic guitar work.
(((5))) Slowish to thrashing speed/death metal. Unfortunately only halfway to potential greatness.
((6)) Already done a zillion times “melo-death” with brutal vocals thing.
(((7))) Decent groove with a sort of marching tempo. Typical but not bad.
((((8)))) 1993-94 era Death Metal. Pretty standard but often bordering on excellent.
(((((9))))) Thrashy & way riffy mix that features some nice tempo/structure changes.
(((10))) Mid-paced & slightly speedy with the “opening the cavern of your demise” vocal effect.
(((11))) Lots of guitar acrobatics and an alright merging of thrash and death metal.

Track Listing
1.The Chondrin Enigma 6.The Foul Nucleus Of Resurrection
2.A Methodical Overture 7.Archetype
3.Avenious 8.Ingenuity In Genocide
4.The Spaying Seance 9.Odious Emanatin
5.And Carnage Basked In Its Ebullience 10.Prolific Murder Contrivance
 11.Underneath Rorulent Soil