Quetzal / Die Cowboy Die
Album:Die Cowboy Die Collection:World
Artist:Quetzal Added:Jun 2007

A-File Activity
Add Date:2007-06-10 Pull Date:2007-08-12 Charts:Reggae/World
Week Ending:Aug 12Aug 5Jul 29Jul 22Jul 15Jul 8Jul 1Jun 24

Recent Airplay
1.Nov 20, 2010:New World Disorder
4.Aug 04, 2007:New World Disorder
2.Aug 11, 2007:New World Disorder
Para Sanar
5.Jul 31, 2007:At the Cafe Bohemian
3.Aug 07, 2007:At the Cafe Bohemian
6.Jul 28, 2007:New World Disorder
Y Tu Veras

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2007-06-11 
Quetzal – Die Cowboy Die
Reviewed by Sadie O., 6/5/07
Latin/rock/jazz/etc from Orange County with significant socio-political intent. Runs a gamut from totally folklorico to a few tracks that have no obvious Latin musical content; most is Latin with a twist (and often hard to describe…) Lots of breathtakingly gorgeous stuff here – Martha Gonzalez can hella sing, and the guitarists are fabulous. I use “guitar” loosely – check the insert for actual instruments.
No FCCs detected, although track 6 might get up some people’s noses.
I love 1 and 7, and I think everything will find someone to love it…
1. 5:23 ****high energy Latin-rock bounce with impassioned vocals in Spanish, about crossing borders.
2. 0:29 *acoustic guitar, harmonized vocals in English, sad verse by Woody Guthrie.
3. 3:44 ***midtempo rather funky beat with several interweaving guitar lines, male and female vocals in Spanish. Builds to a really powerful sound, interspersed with bits of flamenco-style percussion. Long fade.
4. 2:22 *pretty acoustic guitar and female vocals, rather sweet–folky.
5. 5:37 ***vocal intro, then somewhat uptempo salsa, female vocals, lovely and danceable.
6. 4:39 ***dual acoustic guitar intro, then slow 6/8 dance, female vocals in English, very political and pointed. Beautiful but deadly! Ends with “Cracker”.
7. 4:30 ****starts with random hand drums and acoustic guitar, turns into uptempo complex rhythm reminiscent of Flamenco, Spanish female vocals in chorus. Really gorgeous.
8. 0:51 *fade from previous track, then field recording of Jarocho musicians from Veracruz.
9. 3:43 ***power chord intro, then rocking midtempo dance that once was a cumbia, male vocals in Spanish.
10. 1:40 **downtempo and subdued acoustic guitars and bass, very lovely.
11. 3:59 **strong percussion, guitars and female vocal in Spanish. Vocals turn quite sublime. Whew!
12. 1:31 *very subdued electronics and bass, evocative.
13. 4:57 *10 seconds of subdued intro, then midtempo march with male vocals in English. Totally different from the rest of the record – rather like an 80’s pop tune.
14. 6:14 **guitar and female vocals in English, “smooth jazz” groove. Turns into strong electric syncopation with passionate female and male vocals, then back again. They’re definitely sincere!
15. 1:33 *random noises, then actual sound of breast pump, soft female vocals in English. Interesting…
16. 2:48 **very rootsy, uptempo acoustic guitar and female vocals in Spanish.
17. 1:41 *pretty acoustic guitars, very folklorico, male vocals in Spanish.
18. 7:01 *somewhat downtempo and downbeat folk-rock beat with electric guitar, female vocals in English. Ends 1:45 early, then 15 seconds silence, then sweet acoustic guitar and female vocals in English.

Track Listing
1.Migra 9.Y Tu Veras
2.Deportee 10.Ramon's Blues
3.Voces 11.Candil Candelario
4.Mamadas Y Cochinadas 12.Nubes
5.Canto Liso 13.Amnesis
6.You Must Die 14.Breast Pump Waltz
7.Para Sanar 15.No Te Ofendas
8.Apixita 16.El Palomo Y La Paloma
 17.Fancy Time Teller