Pope, The / Sports
Album: Sports   Collection:General
Artist:Pope, The   Added:Jul 2007
Label:Wantage Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-08-26 Pull Date: 2007-10-28 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Oct 7 Sep 30 Sep 16 Sep 9 Sep 2
Airplays: 2 2 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 16, 2009: public noize racket
Nudity In Sports
4. Sep 29, 2007: Bloodstains Across Atherton - Das ist Hardrockisch
Nudity In Sports
2. Oct 03, 2007: Brownian Motion
5. Sep 26, 2007: Brownian Motion
Chocolate Babies
3. Oct 01, 2007: Knockin
Triumph Of The Will
6. Sep 14, 2007: Baptism of Solitude
Great Leap Forward, Triumph Of The Will

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-08-21
Balls out thrashout noise rock, a la Lightning Bolt, Pink and Brown, Hella, Comets on Fire, et. al. Super fuzzed synthlike guitar/bass, pounding drums, indecipherable screamed vocals through fuzz. All with a “sports” theme: songs are intertwined by field recordings, samples, taken at amateur sporting events, like little league and stuff. Songs brief, to the point.

1) launches into an onslaught, pounding, ends with sports sounds/samples, that lead into next track
2) long tribal intro into full on thrashout
3) driving but with stops and weird endin
4) a gallop feel at first, then stops midway and turns to a more halting thrashout
5) a pounder
6) a bit of a riff on the guitar, at least at first
7) a kalimba’ish tribal loop, with some dissonant treated noise guitar
8) noise wall intro turns into a pensive state, then the band generates a critical mass and explodes, quiet out-tro
9) thrashout quiets down midway, then pick up with a more driving beat
10) bookended with more tribal stuff: a bit more driving, less thrashy, cool vocal effects
11) almost melodic (certainly compared to previous), driving and poppy in its own way
12) balls out thrasher, midway turns chill with ambient tone, amplitude modulated (i.e. volume turned up and down)
13) thrashy stuff interspersed, ends with tribal thingy
14) slightly more “rockin” with a riff
15) a big more of a swaying epic rock feel
16) brief silly bouncing motif
17) ambient noise collage, various sources, experimental

Track Listing
1. Triumph Of The Will   8. Battledore And Shuttlecock
2. Great Leap Forward   9. The Power Of Sports
3. Ricksha Race Through Outerspace   10. Chocolate Babies
4. Nudity In Sports   11. White People
5. I Want A New Sport   12. Touchdown Johnny
6. Hot Dog Eater   13. Pancakes, Hamburgers
7. Gymnopaedia   14. The Power And The Glory Of The Sports