Throbbing Gristle / Part Two
Album: Part Two   Collection:General
Artist:Throbbing Gristle   Added:Aug 2007
Label:Industrial Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-08-12 Pull Date: 2007-10-14 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Oct 14 Oct 7 Sep 30 Sep 23 Sep 16 Sep 9 Sep 2 Aug 26
Airplays: 1 2 3 2 2 4 7 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 20, 2022: LOOPS & COILS (rebroadcast from Jan 16, 2022)
Lyre Liar, Greasy Spoon
4. Sep 05, 2017: In Your Ear Radio - A New Era (BDay John Cage)
Vow Of Silence
2. Jan 16, 2022: LOOPS & COILS
Lyre Liar, Greasy Spoon
5. May 03, 2017: Brownian Motion
Greasy Spoon
3. Dec 26, 2018: On The Warpath
Lyre Liar
6. Sep 21, 2016: Brownian Motion
Greasy Spoon

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-08-09
Noise, old school, proto-industrial but completely contemporary. Creepy subtle rhythms, soundscapes, nightmarish.

Unbelievable: a seminal band that’s going on 40 years releases a new CD that’s not only as good or better than their most famous most influential early releases, but may very well be the best thing they’ve done to date. Just about every noise and/or industrial band owes it all to Throbbing Gristle. In mid ‘70’s Manchester TG set the stage for artists like Cabaret Voltaire, Clock DVA, Esplendor Geometrico, who then gave rise to Psychic TVs, Skinny Puppies, Ministries, Nine Inch Nailses. While “Industrial” evolved a whole brand of artists utilizing “noise” were inspired by the early works of TG, their work legitimized by TG’s underground acclaim by the time the early 80’s rolled around. Every track on this CD warrants airplay.

1) vaguely tribal/industrial simple rhythm with treated vocalizations that come across tribal, primeval, all around creepy desperate and cool
2) cool use of jazzy samples, horns, piano, drums, creepy vocals, sick twisted jazz you’d find in satans lounge, or one in a vicodin dream
3) chill, dark, builds into pensive layers
4) dark gothy deceiving music and lyrics, a la This Mortal Coil but with desperate tortured male vocs
5) subtle old school noise beat and treatments, totally going back to their roots, the stuff they invented themselves(!)
6) wow! Excellent looping creepiness, along with deathly vocals
7) begins chill and spooky, evolves to a more mature soundtrackish tone
8) trippy electro rhythm, with desperate vocals
9) creepy near-spoken word parts, chill electro/industrial beats, complex
10) a beautiful lush and interesting drone, and radio friendly in length too

Track Listing
1. Vow Of Silence   6. Lyre Liar
2. Rabbit Snare   7. Above The Below
3. Separated   8. Endless Not
4. Almost A Kiss   9. The Worm Waits Its Turn
5. Greasy Spoon   10. After The Fall