Common Eider, King Eider / How To Build A Cabin
Album: How To Build A Cabin   Collection:General
Artist:Common Eider, King Eider   Added:Oct 2007
Label:Yik Yak Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-04-13 Pull Date: 2008-06-15
Week Ending: Jun 1 May 25 Apr 20
Airplays: 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 04, 2012: minimum entropy
Red Horses
4. Feb 27, 2009: orangeasm
Steal Your Hair
2. Aug 21, 2011: lost and found
Please Don't Drill In Anwr
5. Sep 05, 2008: Radiophonic
Bread King
3. Sep 01, 2009: Jena & Gomorrah
Red Horses
6. May 27, 2008: nag champa orangeasm
Please Don't Drill In Anwr

Album Review
Reviewed 2008-03-23
Common Eider, King Eider
"How to Build a Log Cabin"

Think of this as 'A Silver Mt. Zion' meets 'Stars in the Lid.'
This album splits into two relatively distinct pieces: tracks 1,2,6 make use of raw viola string and distortion. Tracks 3,5,7 focus on haunting gregorian-like vocals which are often unaccompanied. This hypnotic, ultra-fatigued string minimalism achieves something an abstract funeral dirge. Track 4 is intended to be the apex of the album. Altogether a solid album. No FCC's

1 (5:07) distant, swaying strings lead a forlorn track unexpectedly disrupted by mass distortion around 3:00.

2 (4:01) The viola is out of tune, creating a growing gap of dissonance.

3 (3:27) heavily processed throat singing (like monks chanting deeply) which sounds like rolling thunder clouds. In the distance are light echoing femme vocals and strings.

4 (7:05) Soft ghostly vox with piano become heavy, scratchy guitar noise in the last two minutes.

5 (3:16) Floating vocals accompanied only by more heavily distorted vocals.

6 (6:52) Bowed strings harmonizing with a fair bit of reverb buzz.

7 (5:45) A faster track with more reverb, livelier vocals

Track Listing
1. Steal Your Hair   4. Red Bears
2. Hollemn   5. Snowgballs For Reuven
3. Please Don't Drill In Anwr   6. Red Horses
  7. Bread King