Melford, Myra / Trio M / Big Picture
Album: Big Picture   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Melford, Myra / Trio M   Added:Oct 2007

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-01-06 Pull Date: 2008-03-10 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 10 Feb 3 Jan 27 Jan 13
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 08, 2016: Rebop
Freekonomics, Secrets To Tell You, Modern Pine
4. May 02, 2008: Memory Select
Naive Art
2. Nov 06, 2015: Rebop
Brainfire And Buglight
5. Mar 07, 2008: Memory Select
Modern Pine
3. Jun 19, 2009: Memory Select
For Bradford
6. Feb 29, 2008: Memory Select
Naive Art

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-01-01
Piano/bass/drums, accessible but in unconventional terms, as you'd expect from the members: Myra Melford (piano), Mark Dresser (bass), Matt Wilson (drums). Call it "free jazz," I suppose -- music with ties to the jazz tradition but a freedom to go beyond standard forms. Should appeal to "inside" jazz fans, especially 1,2,5. Many tracks start slow, but don't be fooled -- all but #6 get cooking as the players dig in.

1- (7:35) Upbeat; gets into mid/fast, hard-stepping tempo as all three members trade off quick little solos. Yes!
2- (5:13) Loose mid/fast, wandering, chipper. Lingering intro.
3- (5:41) Bursty activity: Halting splashes of aggressive playing, almost like a game. Even some gospel motifs.
4- (13:22) Lightly jittery, darting. Gets into some hyper-bebop moments, great fun. Second half is slower, lingering, with lots of bowed bass.
5- (6:54) Jazzy melody, a touch of blues. Could pass for club jazz although it catches fire and thrashes a bit later on.
6- (6:00) ECM-like: Atmospheric bowed bass, expansive piano chords. Pretty.
7- (5:23) Classical riff, into a stiff and catchy beat as the piano continues to wander.

Track Listing
1. Brainfire And Buglight   4. Big Picture
2. For Bradford   5. Modern Pine
3. Naive Art   6. Secrets To Tell You
  7. Freekonomics