Wilson, Tony 6tet / Pearls Before Swine
Album: Pearls Before Swine   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Wilson, Tony 6tet   Added:Nov 2007
Label:Drip Audio  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-12-24 Pull Date: 2008-02-25 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Feb 24 Feb 10 Feb 3 Jan 27 Jan 20 Jan 13 Jan 6
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 26, 2010: Memory Select, early edition
I Am The Walrus
4. Feb 08, 2008: Memory Select
I Am The Walrus
2. Aug 15, 2008: Memory Select
I Am The Walrus
5. Feb 01, 2008: Memory Select
For Fela Kuti #2
3. Feb 19, 2008: The Wonder Beatles of Canada
I Am The Walrus
6. Jan 25, 2008: Memory Select

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-12-14
Adventurous and often rocking and/or silly. Jazz band led by Canadian guitarist Wilson and including violin and trumpet. Music is often bright, mixing uptempo out-jazz composing with rocking guitar and, sometimes, joking attitiude. Songs include accessible, toe-tapping themes but sometimes break for totally free improv: abstract, weird stuff. Instrumental except for 12. FCC clean.

Tony Wilson -- guitar, kalimba, loops
JP Carter -- trumpet, electronics
Masa Anzai -- sax, electronics
Russell Sholberg -- bass
Jesse Zubot -- violin
Skye Brooks -- drums

1- Rock out: Tense, mid/fast, head-bobbing
2- Pulsing guitar step, then a happy jazz blast and a spacious free improv. Nice flowing ending.
3- Fast and tense. Great free solos later on.
4- Airy abstraction, slow ... then a quiet mid/fast track
5- "I Am the Walrus:" Big and loud, with crazy free break and general rocking out.
6- Dancing violin squeaks, into a relaxed mid/fast piece, nice
7- Cool rolling feel, titled "For Fela Kuti." Bright. Free improv break gets more sparse and abrasive.
8- Country/Western! Skronk! Some metal? Fun! (Monk cover!)
9- Mid/fast, strong happy beat. HALTS for quiet improv, then rocks out
10- Gentle, pretty, with warped trumpet lines. Cool!
11- Klezmer traces in a fast head-bobbing beat. Middle is gloomier, with slow proto-metal guitar
12- Soft, sincerely pretty, w/vocals & country violin feel

Track Listing
1. Ee-Gypt-Me   7. For Fela Kuti #2
2. Squirk   8. Hornin' In
3. Boo-Dat   9. A Bit More
4. Innocent Objections   10. J.P.'s Tune
5. I Am The Walrus   11. Jim
6. Jesse's Tune   12. Junkyard Sea