Braida, Alberto & Wilbert De Joode / Reg Erg
Album: Reg Erg   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Braida, Alberto & Wilbert De Joode   Added:Jan 2008
Label:Red Toucan  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-03-16 Pull Date: 2008-05-18 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: May 18 May 11 Mar 23
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 16, 2008: Memory Select
Is It Here?
3. Mar 21, 2008: Memory Select
2. May 09, 2008: Memory Select

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-03-13
Avant-garde piano-bass duets, freely improvised. Relatively short pieces where the bass (Wilbert De Joode) often feels like the lead instrument. Alberto Braida's piano favors chords calmly painted into the air or stridently punched out, offering more space than the Cecil Taylor-like continuous flow you often hear.

1- Slow pecking, quiet and careful.
2- Fairly fast and tough, w/sharply angular piano.
3- Stern and stiff, active.
4- Quiet wisps.
5- Percussive, fairly fast.
6- The Long One (13 mins.) Patiently builds, with a pensive (but not all quiet) first half and a stern modern-classical air. The action picks up after the halfway mark, getting more brash before winding into a quiet ending.
7- Nicely lumbering, w/involved bass soloing
8- Heavy feel and slow, classical-minded. Some strident piano
9- Grinding, sparse. A tough sound with low, low piano.
10- Calm piano chords, colorful pizz bass

Track Listing
1. Tassili   6. Wadi
2. Leprechaun   7. Ger
3. Tobol   8. Sonoran
4. Adrar   9. Dome C
5. Is It Here?   10. Tea Time