Boscoe / Boscoe
Album: Boscoe   Collection:General
Artist:Boscoe   Added:Feb 2008
Label:The Numero Group  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-03-09 Pull Date: 2008-05-11
Week Ending: Apr 27 Apr 20 Apr 6 Mar 30 Mar 23 Mar 16
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 22, 2020: Some Songs Without Words
He Keeps You
4. Oct 07, 2010: Happy Hour
He Keeps You
2. Jan 24, 2013: Happy Hour
Writin' On The Wall
5. Aug 24, 2009: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC)
Writin' On The Wall
3. Nov 29, 2012: Happy Hour
He Keeps You
6. Jul 20, 2008: Mmm...Tastes Like Candy!
Writin' On The Wall

Album Review
Katie P.
Reviewed 2008-02-19
Boscoe "Boscoe" – Soul jazz with some funky elements. Boscoe is a band that was together in Chicago in the early 1970s that has since developed a cult following. This is their only album and it’s quite nice. The band consists of guitar, bass, drums, trombone, trumpet, sax, and the occasional flute. It seems like all or at least most of the band sing vocals as well. The layering and trading off of lead vocals is nice. Musically the band is great. Guitar tends to be more soul jazz influenced and the bass and drums can at times be hard and funky and at others smooth and mellow. And the horn arrangements are tight! Lyrics are mostly political and talk about social justice issues. Reminds me of Poets of Rhythm, Eugene McDaniels, and the like. Highly recommended. No real FCCs, but a few warnings are listed. Play it now!!
My Picks: 2, 3, 4
Katie P. 2/18/08

1) Starts very quiet and slow with guitar. Slowly builds until entire band comes in with drums, bass, and horns. Band keeps hitting in loud and then backing off. A few male vocals speaking. About halfway through vocals do some “oh-oh” singing. Lots of highs and lows in terms of volume. Fades into next song.
2) Starts slow and quiet with a creeping bass line that builds with guitar and drums. Adds horns so that it almost feels like a slow plodding march. Male vocals are yelling/speaking (like spoken word). Flute or recorder in the background. Political lyrics. With about a 1:30 left the horns come blaring in and eventually it ends in chaos that fades out. Debatable FCC: says “god damn you, god damn us all”
3) Starts with vocal percussion. Hits in with a serious midtempo funky groove and male vocals (singing this time). Lyrics about how the white man keeps you down. Nice horn arrangements on this. Fades out.
4) Starts with Star Spangled Banner intro and goes into an uptempo funky dance number. Great mix of male vocals signing. About half through the spoken word section starts with almost a tribal drumming feel with all the percussion. Slows down and then eventually picks back up some solos. Ends abruptly. Lyric warning: uses the N-word (only once, but it’s obvious).
5) Laid back soul-jazz with a hard funky bass and drum beat. Midtempo nice guitar strumming with layered male vocals.
6) Slower smooth and laid back. A few different male vocalists, one is a bit odd. Not bad, just odd. Sweet love song.
7) Midtempo soul-jazz with a funky beat. Same nice layered male vocals. Full horn sound.
8) Starts with dramatic hits and intro vocals. Goes into a slow midtempo soul-jazz number that is laid back. Main male vocals have an unusual quality.

Track Listing
1. Introduction   5. If I Had My Way
2. Writin' On The Wall   6. I'm What You Need
3. He Keeps You   7. Money Won't Save You
4. We Ain't Free   8. Now And Den