Plata, Puerto / Mujer De Cabaret
Album: Mujer De Cabaret   Collection:World
Artist:Plata, Puerto   Added:Mar 2008
Label:Iaso Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-08-03 Pull Date: 2008-10-05 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Oct 5 Sep 21 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 17 Aug 10
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 30, 2008: At the Cafe Bohemian
Amarro Con Fe
4. Aug 22, 2008: Oatmeal
Sabor De Engano
2. Sep 16, 2008: At the Cafe Bohemian
Amarro Con Fe
5. Aug 19, 2008: Streams, Highways, and My Brother's Grill
Mujer De Cabaret
3. Aug 29, 2008: No Cover, No Minimum
Los Piratas
6. Aug 14, 2008: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon

Album Review
Reviewed 2008-08-03
A debut album from this 83-yr old Dominican guitarist/singer. It’s “the golden age of Dominican guitar music.” Sons, boleros, and meringues w/a warm and lively style. Every track is filled with charm and definitely worth a play. I love this one. Truly.

1. A bright and joyful dance that just makes you smile.
2. Upbeat, wiggly merengue w/great strings, perc, & vocals.
3. Relaxed, melodic bolero w/soaring, old-fashioned vocals. Sigh…
4. Tripping strings/perc in a fast and lively merengue.
5. Midtempo and lyrical with a nice blend of strings & vocals.
6. Starts w/spoken word, then a sunny, upbeat shimmy.
7. Nicely classic bolero guitar intro then emotional vocals. Good chorus
8. Sweet, deceptively simple guaracha w/a fun, playful sound.
9. Fast, fast guitar & perc w/more relaxed vocals.
10. Sweet bolero, nice showcase for all involved. Gorgeous!
11. Bouncy ranchera w/some extra fast bits adding a modern touch.

Track Listing
1. Amarro Con Fe   6. Baracoa
2. Dolorita   7. Santiago
3. Mujer De Cabaret   8. Jala Leva
4. La Cotorrita De Rosa   9. Los Piratas
5. Te La Dejo Toda   10. Sabor De Engano
  11. La Comelona